Research Guides: Language Studies: General Reference

Databases Strong in Languages, Literature, and Linguistics

MLA Modern Language Association International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly materials published worldwide in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. From EBSCO.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
This database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of high-impact academic journals in many disciplines. The archive does NOT include recent issues (generally begins with the first journal issue and stops 3 to 5 years ago). Browse journals by discipline or by title, and search articles by keyword.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text of hundreds of journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from scholarly publishers, mostly university presses. Oxy subscribes to the Standard Collection.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Find citations to Western-language articles pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia, published worldwide from 1971 to present. Pre-1992 books and book chapters area also indexed.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index Online (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
HAPI is a source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

Open Access Language and Linguistics Journals

These open access publications may not be included in the article databases listed on this page. Searching through these resources can lead to additional articles on Linguistics topics.

A few of the open access linguistics titles are listed below:

Journal of Linguistics and Language Teaching

Featured Online Reference Sources and Websites

Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Find critical analysis of novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, as well as biographies, bibliographies, and full text of some poems, stories, essays, plays, and speeches.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
Search books from Oxford Scholarship Online, Oxford Handbooks Online, Oxford Medicine Online, Oxford Clinical Psychology, and Very Short Introductions, as well as the AMA Manual of Style all in one place.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
The TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.