Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases Strong in Languages, Literatures and Linguistics
MLA Modern Language Association International Bibliography
Index to scholarly materials published worldwide in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. From EBSCO.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
This database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. From ProQuest.
Full-text archive of high-impact academic journals in many disciplines. The archive does NOT include recent issues -- included journals generally begin with the first issue and stop 3 to 5 years ago. You can browse journals by discipline or by title, and you can search articles by keyword. Oxy subscribes to eight JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I through VII and the Ecology and Botany collection.
Full-text of hundreds of journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from scholarly publishers, mostly university presses. Oxy subscribes to the Standard Collection.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
Find citations to Western-language articles pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia, published worldwide from 1971 to present. Pre-1992 books and book chapters area also indexed.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index Online (HAPI)
HAPI is a source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Avenues to Finding Articles
Use academic databases (like those listed above, or found in the Database Finder) to execute sophisticated searches and locate relevant scholarly articles.
Identify major journal publications in your subject. Browse Oxy subscriptions to electronic journals using the links at right, or explore the metrics side of Google Scholar by looking at their Journal rankings .
Locate and browse online and print journals accessible at Oxy. Search journals as a Title in an OASys search and view the record to determine whether we have print, online access or both, and to see what years of coverage are included. Sometimes different databases include different date ranges, so look carefully. Our Journal Lists provide coverage information as well.
Finding relevant, peer-reviewed journal articles can be one of the more difficult aspects of the research process. To learn more advanced searching techniques check out the Research and Reference Guide or contact a librarian. You can email questions or use the appointment button to set up a 1-hour consultation.
Featured Online Reference Sources and Websites
Gale Literary Sources
Find critical analysis of novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, as well as biographies, bibliographies, and full text of some poems, stories, essays, plays, and speeches.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works into a single cross-searchable resource.
Open Access Language and Linguistics Journals
These open access publications may not be included in the article databases listed on this page. Searching through these resources can lead to additional articles on Linguistics topics.
A few of the open access Linguistics titles are listed below: