Research Guides: News Sources: Historical News Sources

Find historical news resources from all around the world.

Oxy Resources (requires login)

Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1909-1975) This link opens in a new window
Includes content from the Chicago Defender between 1909 and 1975.
Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspaper Collection (1832 - 1953) This link opens in a new window
A digitized collection of English-language newspapers from China.
Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel (1934 - 2005) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2019) This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of the New York Times (1851 - 2019). View results as page images.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of the Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1999). View results as page images.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, and proclamations make up this comprehensive collection of early English newspapers, including titles from London, British Isles, and colonies.

Historical Newspapers on Microform

Not all databases provide the entire range of a newspaper's publication dates. Sometimes, you will need to access older articles on microfilm (film reels) or microform (transparent cards). Oxy has a number of newspapers on microform, some of which are listed below. The microfilm reading machine is located on the main floor of the Academic Commons.

Wall Street Journal (New York, NY)
1889-1958
Wall Street Journal (Eastern ed.)
1959-2010
Washington Post, Times Herald
1959-1973
Washington Post
1974-2009

Finding Historical Newspapers on Microform through ILL

Microform of newspapers not at Oxy can be ordered via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

1. Search for the title of the newspaper in OxyOneSearch

2. Go to the filter on the left side of the page "Resource Type" and click the box to the left of "Newspapers."

3. Open the record for the newspaper that contains microfilm or microform

4. Click Get it for me from other libraries. This should automatically take you to the Interlibrary Loan request page. If not, then follow the instructions in the ILL guide.

Web Resources

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1770-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

NOTE: Many of these websites link to external sites, some which may have expired domains.