Research Guides: News Sources: International News

Find regional, national, and international newspapers from across the globe, both current and historical.

Key Databases for International News

Note that if you want to see what foreign language newspapers are available through Oxy, whether in print or via one of our subscription databases, type "newspapers" into Oxy OneSearch and then using the filters on the left hand side of the page:

Go to Resource Type and scroll down until you find "newspapers." Check the box on the left and click "apply filters."
Then, go to the Language filter and select the language you want the paper to be written in and click "apply filters.

Other databases to try:

Newspapers.com
Access to millions of historical newspaper pages from the late 1600s to the current day.
Newspaper Source
Full text coverage for national and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc. NOTE: EBSCO prohibits the use of AI tools with their content.

EBSCO's (2024) License Agreement states, "Licensee and Authorized Users may not use artificial intelligence tools or machine learning technologies with any of the content included in the Databases or Services for any purpose."

Oxy Resources (requires login)

Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspaper Collection (1832 - 1953)
A digitized collection of English-language newspapers from China.
Latin American News Digest
Latin American News Digest is a Washington, D.C. based publication dedicated to expanding the reach of news coverage and analysis produced by Latin American media.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection
Newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, and proclamations make up this comprehensive collection of early English newspapers, including titles from London, British Isles, and colonies.

Web Resources

NOTE: Many of these websites link to external sites, some which may have expired domains.