Start your research and find articles with these key Biology databases.
Includes Biology Digest, Plant Sciences, MEDLINE, TOXLINE, and more. The main Biological Sciences database offers subfiles including Animal Behavior Abstracts, Ecology Abstracts, Genetic Abstracts, and CSA Neurosciences Abstracts, to name a few.
Abstract and citation database for discovery and analytics; includes scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Find the complete list of biology related databases at the Biology subject link in our database list.
Below is a sample of the biology journals that you have access to through Oxy library for free and others that you can browse on the internet. Some are open access so they are free for everyone. If there is a journal you're interested in that is not on these lists, then search for it via our Oxy Library Journal Search feature.
Journals at Oxy Library
Other Recommended Biology Journals to Explore (not part of Oxy's subscriptions)
TIP: If you are browsing a journal's website/table of contents and Oxy doesn't subscribe to it, you may hit a paywall when you try to read the article. If you are asked for payment or are asked to login to the site to request access, there is no need to do that. Just copy the title of the journal article and paste it into the OneSearch box on the Oxy library homepage. Then look for your desired article in the search results that appear. If it doesn't appear as the first or second result, then click on "expand your search" at the top of the results list. Now you should see your article with a link to "Get it for me from other libraries." Click on that link and follow the instructions for requesting free full text via Interlibrary Loan!
Open Access (OA) articles are free, open to anyone to read, don't require any institutional log in credentials, and carry legal permission for open use. If you're interested in learning more, visit our Open Access guide.
A few of the more than 200 open access biology titles are listed below along with a link to the directory of open access journals.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections . BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.
