Archives and Archival Resources

• American Planning Association California Chapter Collection
  Records of the California Chapter of the American Planning Association that document the Chapter's administrative activities and the history of planning in California in the 20th and early 21st centuries. The collection includes administrative files, planning publications, reports, and newsletters documenting the planning movement in California, California planning's ties to design, and the environment and planning related legislation.
• Center Oral History Research: Urban Planning
  Collection of oral histories by individuals who have been a part of the history of Los Angeles and its communities related to urban planning the greater Los Angeles area.
• The George Meany Memorial AFL-CIO Archive
  Consists of approximately 40 million documents and other archival material that document social movements in the United States, including those to gain rights for women, children and minorities.
• Labor Archives and Research Center
  Labor history of the San Francisco Bay Area.
• Labor Archives of Washington
  Digital collections on labor, particularly in the Pacific Northwest.
• Organizing Los Angeles Workers, 1980-Present
  Records of the United Service Workers West/SEIU (Justice for Janitors), the Los Angeles Alliance for a New Economy (LAANE), UNITE HERE Local 11, and the UCLA Institute for Research on Labor and Employment that document workers in Los Angeles being organized from 1980 to present.
• Samuel Gompers Papers
  The papers of Samuel Gompers, the leading trade unionist and labor spokesman in the late 19th and early 20th centuries and president of the American Federation of Labor (1886-1924).
• Tamiment Library and Wagner Labor Archives
  Collection of materials documenting the history of labor, the Left, political radicalism, and social movements in the United States. Strengths include: communism, anarchism, and socialism. The Library is also the repository for the Archives of Irish America and the Abraham Lincoln Brigade Archives
• Teamsters Archives
  Archive for the International Brotherhood of Teamsters (IBT) contains IBT publications, convention proceedings, documentary materials from the various IBT departments, trade divisions and area conferences, photographs, films, and video/audio tape reels and cassettes.
• Tradeswomen Archives and Labor Studies Collections
  Archive documents women working in construction and other non-traditional fields in Southern California, nationally, and around the world. Collections were created by women who worked in the building trades for years, including: Dr. Vivian Price, Dr. Lynn Shaw, Jane Templin, Pat Williams, and the Oregon Tradewomen, Inc.
• UNITE HERE Local 11 Oral History Project
  Interviews with rank-and-file leaders, local union staff, and national union officials of the Local 11, which currently represents over 30,000 hospitality workers in southern California and Arizona.
• Urban Planning and Infrastructure Archives
  The Center for Architecture's video archive related to Urban Planning and Infrastructure.
• The Walter P. Reuther Library, Archives of Labor and Urban Affairs
  The largest labor archives in North America with collections documenting numerous unions and labor-related organizations.
• Wisconsin Historical Society (WHS) Labor Collection
  The WHS began actively collecting labor-related materials in the 1890s. Collection strengths include: working class political, radical and reform movements; 19th-century origins of Marxism in the United States; worker education; labor economics; and history and the trade union movement.

• ACT UP Oral History Project
  Archive of 187 interviews with members of ACT UP, the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York.
• Archives of Lesbian Oral Testimony
  Collection of oral histories of people who presently or at one time identified as same-sex and same-gender attracted women.
• The ArQuives
  The largest independent LGBTQ2+ Archives in the world.
• Digital Transgender Archive
  A digital archive of materials documenting transgender history that is the result of an international collaboration of more than 60 colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections worldwide.
• GLBT Historical Society Archives
  Archive of over 1,000 collections of materials pertaining to LGBTQ people. Collections include: personal papers, organizational records, periodicals, oral histories, photographs, audiovisual recordings, ephemera, artifacts and works of art.
• Gerber/Hart Archives for Midwest LGBTQ History & Culture
  Archive with materials documenting the culture and history of LGBTQ peoples and additional marginalized sexual and gender minorities in Chicago and the Midwest.
• IHLIA LGBTI Heritage Archives (International Homo/Lesbian Information Center and Archive)
  The largest collection of LGBT materials in Europe with over 100,000 items including: books, journals and magazines, films, documentaries, posters, photographs and objects such as T-shirts, buttons and condom packaging.
• In the Life
  Archive of television’s longest-running LGBTQ news magazine.
• James C. Hormel LGBTQIA Center Archives
  Collections that document LGBTQIA lives and culture, with an emphasis on the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern California. Materials include: personal papers; organizational records; magazines; newspapers; zines; audiovisual materials; photographs; pulp paperbacks; objects.
• June L. Mazer Lesbian Archives
  Major archive in California that preserves and promotes lesbian and feminist history and culture and represents lesbians and feminists of all classes, ethnicities, races, and experiences. Materials include: personal letters; scrapbooks; artwork; manuscripts; books; records; newspapers; magazines; photographs; videotapes; flyers; papers of lesbian organizations; private papers; clothing
• The Lavender, Archives, and Cultural Exchange
  A volunteer-run library and archive with collections of queer books, films, archives, zines, and more.
• The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) Archive
  Archive that documents the history and culture of LGBTQ communities in the South and Southwest. Materials include: letters; photographs; newspapers; magazines; scrapbooks; diaries; audio-visual materials; organizational records; posters; flyers; objects.
• LGBTQ Center National History Archive
  Archive that documents LGBTQ lives and organizations centered in and around New York. Materials include: scrapbooks; photographs; audio and video recordings; pamphlets and printed materials; posters; born-digital records; personal papers created by individuals; records of organizations; periodicals (newspapers and magazines); organization files; the organizational records of The Center.
• Lesbian Herstory Archives
  Largest collection of materials by and about lesbians that documents their lives and activities. Materials include: unpublished papers; organizational records; books; magazines; journals; zines; news clippings; photos, films diaries, oral histories, organizational records; and much more.
• ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives
  Located at the University of Southern California, it is the largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world
• Schwules Museum and Archives
  One of the world's largest and most significant LGBTQ museums.
• Transgender Archives
  Archive of rare publications and memorabilia of persons and organizations that have worked for the betterment of Trans+ people.

More Resources:

• List of LGBTQIA+ Archives, Libraries, Research Centers, and Special Collections in the US
  List of LGBTQIA+ repositories, organized by state, compiled by the University of Wisconsin.

Strengths in American Literature, German Literature, English and Continental Literature.

• Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library
  One of the world's largest and most dynamic collections of rare books and manuscripts. Its collections include ancient papyri, medieval manuscripts, personal papers of modern writers, artists’ books, photographs, avant-garde, audio-visual and born-digital material.
• Biblioteca nacional de España
  The library is the main center for Spanish and Ibero-American written, graphic and audiovisual culture. It holds copies of all the books published in Spain and unique collections of manuscripts, incunabula, prints, drawings, photographs, sound recordings.
• Brouillons d'écrivains
  Virtual gallery of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France (BnF) that provides overviews of exhibitions related to books and writing; writers and storytellers; the history of representations; arts and architecture; photography; and maps and photos.
• Deutsches Literaturarchiv Marbach
  One of the leading literary archives that contains collections documenting the literary and intellectual history from 1750 to the present day. Its collections include over 1,600 papers and collections of authors and scholars, and archives of literary publishers. The archive also houses more than 450,000 images and objects. Its library is also the largest special collection of modern German literature. It includes more than 1.5 million books, periodicals, and analog and digital text, sound and visual media.
• Gnazim Archive
  Contains manuscripts, letters, various personal documents and photographs, as well as a unique collection of recordings of authors who lived and worked in different countries and in Israel. [Site in Hebrew]
• Literary and Theatrical Archive and Manuscript Collections, British Library
  The British Library Theatrical Archives holds the archives of playwrights, actors, directors, critics, theatre companies and theatrical agents. This resource supports research on the study of West End, Fringe, and regional British theater since 1900.
• Bodleian Library
  The Bodleian houses ancient, medieval, modern, and contemporary manuscript and archive material from around the world. These collections include historical, literary, political, scientific, and religious papers, maps, charters, seals, rolls, and papyri.
• Modern Literary Archives at the University of Manchester
  Contains over fifty discrete archives and manuscript accumulations of poets and novelists; poetry in English from England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, North and South America, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, India, South Africa, and the Caribbean; writing which acknowledges ethnicity, gender and sexuality. Focus is on 20th- and 21st-century literatures in English.
• National Library of Wales Literary Archives
  20th- and 21st-century poets and authors of Wales.
• Northern Ireland Literary Archive
  Consists of digitized manuscripts and letters belonging to nine writers born or based in Northern Ireland. The material ranges from 19th-century manuscripts by Samuel Ferguson to the late poems of John Hewitt in the 1980s.
• 20th-21st Century Literature at the British Library
  Documents how authors experimented with new forms and themes to capture the world around them.
• The Shelley-Godwin Archive
  Digitized manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, William Godwin, and Mary Wollstonecraft
• Swiss Literary Archives
  Archives of literature of all four linguistic regions of Switzerland: French, German, Italian and Romansh, with particular emphasis on the 20th and 21st centuries. The holdings consist mainly of notes, drafts, work manuscripts, correspondence, diaries, press clippings, specialized works, books, audio and video documents, photographs, artwork, drawings as well as personal objects.

• Alan Mason Chesney Archives (at Johns Hopkins)
  Archive documents the history of Johns Hopkins Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health from the mid-nineteenth century to present.
• Contemporary Medical Care and Health Policy Collection (at Yale)
  Collection contains personal papers and organization records that document the development, evolution, and politics of health care and health policy in the United States during the 20th-century.
• Lillian & Clarence de la Chapelle Medical Archives
  Repository holds the institutional records of NYU Langone and all affiliated institutions.
• Medical Historical Library Archives (at Yale)
  Collections of personal papers, institutional records, pamphlets, printed materials, photographs, and ephemera documenting the history of medicine and public health. Emphasis is on people and institutions affiliated with the Yale Schools of Medicine, Public Health, Nursing, and Physician Associate Program; the city of New Haven; and the state of Connecticut.
• National Library of Medicine Archives and Modern Manuscripts
  Archive contains personal papers and organizational records documenting 20th- and 21st-century American medical practitioners, biomedical scientists, public health practitioners and researchers, and health policy planners. Strengths of the Collection are public health and health policy, mental health, child development, and molecular biology.
• New York Academy of Medicine Archives and Manuscripts
  The Archives hold materials documenting the history of the Academy as an institution since its founding in 1847. Also in the holdings are: papers of various medical organizations and societies; collections of personal papers; letters; student notebooks; diaries; physicians' case records.
• Women in Medicine Collection, Legacy Center Archives and Special Collections
  Collections document women in medicine; the history of the college; women in medicine beginning in the mid-1800s.

Other Resources:

Medical Library Association's List of Libraries and Archives (by state)
The Medical Library Association compiled a list of libraries and archives organized fist by country, then by state.

• Hogan Jazz Archive  of New Orleans Music and New Orleans Jazz
  Holding include: business papers; personal papers; sound and video recordings; sheet music; photographs; ephemera; various printed materials. The archive documents the musical cultures of New Orleans including jazz, ragtime, rhythm and blues, blues, gospel, Creole songs, other forms of Black American popular music, and more.
• Sousa Archives and Center for American Music
  Holdings document America’s local and national music history and its diverse cultures in multiple media formats.
• Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Library and Archives
  The Archive holds more than 200 collections of personal papers of performers, radio DJ's, photographers, poster artists and collectors. The collection strengths are in music business records from record executives, artist managers, historic venues, recording studios and long-running concert tours. The Library has extensive holdings of books, magazines, fanzines, newspapers, commercial audio and video recordings, and box sets of audio and video.

• ADABI, Mexico
  Apoyo al Desarollo de Archivos y Bibliotecas de México is an organization funded by the Fundación Alfredo Harp Helú. Among other endeavors, it has created inventories for many religious archives throughout Mexico.
• American Jewish Archives
  The largest repository with over 15 million pages of documents, audio-visual recordings, microfilm, and photographic images dedicated to the study of the American Jewish experience.
• Censo-Guía de Archivos de España e Iberoamérica
  Developed under the auspices of the Ministry of Culture and Sport in Spain, this guide seeks to provide basic information about all Hispanic archives. The guide can be useful for finding small, regional, and religious archives in Spain and Latin America.
• Ecclesiastical and Secular Sources for Slave Societies
  Archive of ecclesiastical and secular documents related to Africans and African-descended peoples in slave societies and more than 700,000 digital images.
• Vatican Apostolic Archives and the Vatican Library
  The Apostolic Archives contains materials documenting over 1,000 years of history of the Holy See, including all acts promulgated by the Holy See, state papers, correspondence, and account books. The Vatican Library holds manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories, graphic materials, coins and medals, and printed materials. Some materials are accessible in the Library's Digital Collections.

• The Academy of Natural Sciences Archives
  Archives hold: administrative records and official Academy documents documenting the history of the Academy from its founding in March 1812 to present; scientific and personal unpublished materials contributed by research scientists and others associated with the Academy; manuscripts; art; artifacts; film; photos; field notes; illustrations; memorabilia.
• Biodiversity Heritage Library
  Collections include: hundreds of thousands of volumes, comprising over 60 million pages (15th-21st century); field notebooks; correspondence; collection records; other items.
• National Academy of Sciences Archives
  Collections include: essential documentation of the activities, policies, and procedures of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, and the National Academy of Medicine.
• Science History Institute Library and Archives
  Collections include: rare books on chemistry; alchemical manuscripts; documents, photographs, and moving images of significant individuals, businesses, and organizations documenting more than 200 years of scientific history; oral histories with 1,200 interviews dating back to 1979; scientific instruments and artifacts.

Botany

• Archives of The New York Botanical Garden (NYBG)
  Archive documenting the comprehensive history of the growth and development of the NYBG and the history of American botanical science and horticulture as fields of study. Holdings include: institutional records; correspondence, manuscripts, research notes, and other materials from botanists, horticulturists, and landscape designers; historical records of selected botanical and horticultural organizations, plant societies and plant-related business and industry.
• Botany Libraries Archives (Harvard)
  Holdings include: personal papers; images; institutional records; notebooks, daybooks, accession lists, and journals chronicling the collection of plant specimens; plant lists, field notes, maps, illustrations, photographs, and realia from botanical expeditions; photographic materials; artifacts and specimens.
• United States National Herbarium Collections
  Holdings include over 5 million specimens of plants.

Chemistry

• Records of the Bureau of Agricultural and Industrial Chemistry
  Collection includes: correspondence (1935-39); laboratory project reports (1901-38); papers; maps; architectural and engineering plans; photographic negatives; administrative records; other materials.
• Science History Institute Library and Archives
  Collections include: rare books on chemistry; alchemical manuscripts; documents, photographs, and moving images of significant individuals, businesses, and organizations documenting more than 200 years of scientific history; oral histories with 1,200 interviews dating back to 1979; scientific instruments and artifacts.

Physics

• Archive for the History of Quantum Physics
  12,500 items that include: collected papers of physicists; oral history interviews; sources for the History of Quantum Physics Project; photographs.
• Niels Bohr Library & Archives
  Archive for the history of physics, astronomy, geophysics and allied fields. Holdings include: collection of textbooks; monographs and related publications; over 30,000 photographs and other images; over 1,500 oral histories; archival records of American Institute of Physics and its Member Societies; records and personal papers of a select number of scientists.

Archives of Scholarly Publications:

arXiv 
This open-access archive contains 2,271,171 scholarly, pre-print articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

• Literary and Theatrical Archive and Manuscript Collections, British Library
• The British Library Theatrical Archives holds the archives of playwrights, actors, directors, critics, theatre companies and theatrical agents. This resource supports research on the study of West End, Fringe, and regional British theater since 1900.
• Pasadena Playhouse Archive
  Archive holds a collection of programs and photos dating back to 1916.
• Theatre on Film and Tape Archive (TOFT) (at New York Public Library)
  Archive preserves live theatrical productions and documents the creative contributions of distinguished artists and legendary theater figures. TOFT produces video recordings of Broadway, Off-Broadway, regional theatre productions, and dialogues between notable theatre personalities.
• Theatre Historical Society of America (THS)
  THS holds photographic prints, operational records, blueprints, photo negatives and slides, programs, books, artifacts, newspaper clippings, artwork, and magazines for over 18,000 theatres across the country dating back to the late 1800s.

• Archives for Research on Women
  Archive contains materials documenting the experiences of women and men participating in women-centered and LGBTQ activist and advocacy activities in Georgia and the Southeast throughout the 20th and 21st centuries and the experiences of women at Georgia State University. Materials include: personal and professional papers of individual activists; the records of activist organizations; the personal and professional papers of GSU administrators and faculty; records of its Women’s Studies Institute and women-centered committees and organizations.
• Carey C. Shuart Women's Archive
  Collection contains the records of women’s organizations and the papers of women in Texas, documenting a wide range of women's issues.
• Digital Feminist Archives
  Archive offers a snapshot of feminist history in the 1960s and 1970s, the institutionalization of women’s centers and women’s studies as an academic discipline, and feminist struggles taking place at colleges and universities, in healthcare and social service centers, in political organizations and neighborhood meetings across the country.
• Emma Goldman Papers
  Collection of letters, writings, speeches, papers, and photographs of Emma Goldman, the anarchist and political activist.
• Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America
  The archive is one of the leading collections documenting civil rights and feminism, health and sexuality, work and family life, education and the professions, and culinary history and etiquette.
• Sophia Smith Collection
  The collection documents the history of women and other gender minorities with sources for women’s movements for social change, particularly suffrage, reproductive rights and reproductive justice, and the women’s liberation movement.

Additional Resources:

• List of Archives and Libraries for Women's History
  The International Institute of Social History compiled two extensive lists of libraries and archives related to women: List of Specialized Archives, Libraries, or Collections and a List of Archives and Libraries