Research Guides: Politics: Finding Government Documents

Govenment Documents

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
Reports on major policy issues; tailored confidential memoranda, briefings and consultations; seminars and workshops; expert congressional testimony; responses to individual inquiries
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information.

HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
Includes U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals collection
Additional HeinOnline Collections now available for Oxy users: Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment, a comprehensive overview of sports and entertainment law; Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law, an archive of indigenous treaties, tribal codes, constitutions, and more; Water Rights & Resources, a database for understanding state & federal laws governing water.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Covers issues in the public debate through a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Includes PAIS International and PAIS Archive.

GovInfo
Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
GPO Government Printing Office
Foreign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication.
Index of Government Agencies
From USA.gov, find contact information for U.S. federal government agencies, departments, corporations, instrumentalities, and government-sponsored enterprises.
The Federal Register