Research Guides: Politics: Finding Databases & Public Policy Resources

Academic Databases

ProQuest Politics This link opens in a new window
Provides access to databases (including PAIS and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts) covering international literature in political science and public administration/policy.
Annual Review of Political Science This link opens in a new window
Covers significant developments in the field of Political Science including political theory and philosophy, international relations, political economy, political behavior, American and comparative politics, public administration and policy, and methodology.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Current collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

Policy Commons This link opens in a new window
Over 12 million working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media from more than 35,000 municipalities, IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers.
Pew Research Center This link opens in a new window
A nonpartisan think tank publishing public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis, and other data-driven social science research.
RAND Reports This link opens in a new window
Research on children and families; education and the arts; energy and environment; health care; infrastructure and transportation; international affairs; law and business; national security; public safety; science and technology.

Urban Institute
Nonprofit research organization that provides data and evidence to help advance upward mobility and equity.
The Brookings Institute
The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C. with a mission to conduct in-depth, nonpartisan research to improve policy and governance at local, national, and global levels.
The American Enterprise Institute
AEI is a community of scholars and supporters committed to expanding liberty, increasing individual opportunity and strengthening free enterprise.
Center for American Progress
The Center for American Progress is an independent nonpartisan educational institute dedicated to improving the lives of Americans through progressive ideas and action.
Center for Economic Policy Research
CEPR is Europe’s leading network of Economic Policy Researchers.
Center for the Study of Social Policy
Policy research on children and families. 1979-Current.

CLASP Center for Law and Social Policy - Data This link opens in a new window
CLASP conducts analysis of national, state, and local data to accurately document racial disparities and disparate policy impacts by race to inform our policy recommendations and advocacy.

Southern Poverty Law Center
A nonprofit civil rights organization dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry, and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of society.
Measure of America-SSRC Project
Provides tools for understanding the distribution of well-being and opportunity in America, health, education, and living standards.
Institute for Research on Poverty
IRP researches the causes and consequences of poverty and inequality in the United States. We bring together social scientists from across research disciplines such as economics, sociology, social work, and demography. The result is a well-rounded understanding of poverty issues.
Neighborhood Data for Social Change
A project of the USC Lusk Center for Real Estate, NDSC is a free, publicly available online resource for civic actors to learn about the trends, challenges, and opportunities facing Los Angeles County neighborhoods through maps, charts, data analysis, and storytelling.

North American City Reports This link opens in a new window
Over 1.5 million pages of in-depth surveys, reports, and research from more than six hundred North American cities and urban agencies. Part of Policy Commons.
Public Health & Social Care This link opens in a new window
Research, pilot projects, case studies, newsletters and collaborative proejct from global frontline health providers, hospital systems, foundations, patient groups, practitioner communities, governments and think tanks. Part of Policy Commons.
Global Think Tanks This link opens in a new window
Database for public policy, covering reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of IGOs, NGOs, and research centers. Part of Policy Commons
World Cities This link opens in a new window
Over 1.4 million rare and hard-to-find research reports from more than 1,000 of the world’s major cities. Part of Policy Commons.
World Governments This link opens in a new window
Source for national, provincial, and state government publications, including coverage of the UK, Ireland, Canada, US Federal agencies, and Oceania, plus additional 700 national, state, and regional governments and agencies from more than 180 countries. Part of Policy Commons.