Covering the period of 1830-1865, the collection presents the massive, international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves. The approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show the full range of their activities in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, France and Germany.
A landmark collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.
Includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, providing a personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives.
Women and Social Movements in the United States is a database resource for students of U.S. women's history. The collection has a vast array of primary documents from over 2,300 authors, including multimedia and full-text archives.
Women Writers Online is the database of the Women Writers Project (WWP). It contains full-text editions of more than 100 texts by English and American women published between 1500 and 1830, and includes introductory essays written by contemporary scholars.
The UHRI is designed to facilitate access to human rights recommendations issued by three key pillars of the United Nations human rights protection system: the Treaty Bodies established under the international human rights treaties, the Special Procedures, and the Universal Periodic Review.
The UHRI aims at assisting States in the implementation of these recommendations and at facilitating the work of national stakeholders such as National Human Rights Institutions (NHRIs), non-governmental organisations, civil society and academics as well as the United Nations. The UHRI enables users to produce overviews of recommendations by country (summary by country), by Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), or by Human Rights Voluntary Goals (HRVGs), as well as to perform basic and advanced searches by using filters.
Search several historic American newspaper and periodical databases, including archives of the Liberator (1831-1865), Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1885), the Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), and many more.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.