An open access site which includes a community created legal encyclopedia (called Wex) as well as a directory of reputable online locations where state, federal, and foreign law can be found. This directory links one out to cases, codes, and other resources from the jurisdiction.
"Europa" offers great overviews of ALL regions and countries. Includes histories, geographic descriptions, economic and political overviews, extensive statistics, and more. Note: this database may only be used by one person at a time. Please logout when finished. Thank you.
This major new edition of The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World reflects the changing world with a reassessment of many of the core themes of the previous edition, and new articles on the people, concepts, and events that have shaped the world since 1993. The second edition includes biographies of Kofi Annan, Tony Blair, Bill Clinton, & Gerhard Schroder; articles on events such as the Rwandan Genocide and the war in Kosovo; and coverage of international trade developments such as NAFTA.
Offers authoritative entries on "key figures, events, and structures that have animated U.S. government for more than 200 years." Includes entries on landmark cases, biographies, key legal terms and government traditions. Log in required.
The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog. Broader access to these data allow policymakers and advocacy groups to make better-informed decisions and measure improvements more accurately. They are also valuable tools to support research by journalists, academia and others, broadening understanding of global issues.