Research Guides: First Year Seminar: Finding Articles

Best Bets

Start here! Don't know which database(s) to start with? In addition to looking at Google Scholar and our library catalog OneSearch, try these databases.

Academic Search Elite
Academic Search Elite has a little bit of everything. It searches over 2,000 databases across all disciplines--including humanities, arts, education, computer sciences, physics, medical sciences, and more!--to find full-text articles, images, and data.

EBSCO's (2024) License Agreement states, "Licensee and Authorized Users may not use artificial intelligence tools or machine learning technologies with any of the content included in the Databases or Services for any purpose."
JSTOR
JSTOR is a full-text archive of high-impact academic journals in many disciplines. The archive does NOT include recent issues -- included journals generally begin with the first issue and stop 3 to 5 years ago.
Project Muse
Full-text of hundreds of journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from scholarly publishers, mostly university presses.

Open Educational Resources

What's open access?

Open Access (OA) materials, also known as Open Educational Resources (OER), are free-to-use educational materials - think textbooks, learning guides, videos, journals, etc. OER are free of cost, open to anyone to use, don't require any institutional log in credentials, and carry legal permission for open use. If you're interested in learning more, visit our OER guide, otherwise, feel free to use, adapt, and share the following open resources.

Database Finder (A to Z List)

Not finding what you're looking for? The Databases A-Z Guide is a complete, alphabetical list of databases that Oxy subscribes to.

Databases A-Z