Skip to Main Content

Using Public Libraries

Public libraries are full of resources and services for students. And Los Angeles is full of public libraries!

Think of public libraries as an extension of the Oxy library where you can find databases and e-resources not available through the library website.

Public libraries also offer free educational and cultural services, such as LinkedIn Learning & Coursera, Mango Languages and the California State Library Parks Pass Program which lets you borrow a California State Park parking pass for free.

Use this guide for more information on how to get a library card as an Oxy student and services offered from nearby libraries:

Los Angeles Public Library

The Los Angeles Public Library offers access to over 200 databases, including resources for business (including access to S&P NetAdvantage), genealogy and government information. LAPL digital collections, from oral histories to photo archives, are great resources for local Los Angeles history. LAPL also offers access to Coursera, LinkedIn Learning, Mango Languages and the Hoopla and Libby apps for ebooks and audiobooks plus the California State Library Park Pass program.

Closest LAPL branch to campus:

Eagle Rock Branch Library

5027 Caspar Avenue

Los Angeles, CA 90041


Getting a LAPL Card:

Students with a non-campus, California address are able to sign up for an e-card to get instant access to the library's digital resources.

Oxy students who live on campus can get a courtesy card by signing up in person at any branch with a photo ID and an Oxy school ID. Courtesy cards include full digital resource access but limited in-person borrowing privileges.

Oxy students with a photo ID and a piece of business mail with their name and Occidental campus address can sign up in person for a library card with full borrower privileges.

Los Angeles County Library

The LA County Library offers 91 databases, ebooks and audiobooks through Libby, Hoopla and BiblioBoard, access to Coursera, LinkedIn Learning and Mango Languages and participates in the California State Parks Library Pass program.

The closest branch to campus:

La Cañada Flintridge Library

4545 N Oakwood Avenue

La Cañada Flintridge, CA 91011


Getting a LA County Library Card:

Oxy students can sign up for an e-card online with their Oxy campus address and get immediate digital access and borrowing privileges (but no printing nor CA State Park pass borrowing). 

Sign up in person at any branch with a photo ID and your Oxy ID to get full borrowing privileges.

 

Pasadena Public Library

The Pasadena Public Library offers close to 60 databases and e-resources, including LinkedIn Learning, Coursera, Libby and Hoopla for audiobooks and ebooks. Pasadena Public Library is also a member of the California State Park Library Pass program.

The closest branch to campus:

San Rafael Branch Library

1240 Nithsdale Rd
Pasadena, CA 91105


Getting a Pasadena Public Library Card:

Oxy students signing up in person can get a full access card with their Occidental ID.

Temporary e-cards, good for 30 days access to databases and e-resources only, are available online with any California address, including an on-campus address.

Glendale Library Arts & Culture

Glendale Library Arts & Culture offers access to Coursera, LinkedIn Learning, Mango Languages and over 70 databases.

The closest branch to campus:

Library Connection @ Adams Square

1100 E Chevy Chase Drive

Glendale, CA 91205


Getting a Glendale Library Arts & Culture card:

Oxy students can use their on-campus or off-campus address to sign up online for an e-card to get immediate access to all digital library resources and ebooks.