Research Guides: Legal Research and Government Documents: U.S. Government Documents

Govenment Documents

The Federal Register
Daily journal of the U.S. government.
Foreign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication.
GovInfo
Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
National Security Archive
Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents, and more.
USA.gov: Federal laws and regulations
Research federal laws and the lawmaking process. Learn about impeachment. Get copies of your government files. And find out about copyrighted government creative works.

HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary content in subject areas including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law and public policy.
Additional HeinOnline Collections now available for Oxy users: Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment, a comprehensive overview of sports and entertainment law; Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law, an archive of indigenous treaties, tribal codes, constitutions, and more; Water Rights & Resources, a database for understanding state & federal laws governing water.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Current collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Covers issues in the public debate through a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Includes PAIS International and PAIS Archive.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Online research service that provides a comprehensive collection of news, business, and law related information for students.

Index of Government Agencies
From USA.gov, find contact information for U.S. federal government agencies, departments, corporations, instrumentalities, and government-sponsored enterprises.