Research Guides: Medicine & Health: Finding Articles

Best Bets

Start your research and find articles with these key medical and health focused databases.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
The public interface to MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other databases from the National Library of Medicine covering research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
Web of Science - Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection contains over 21,100 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities disciplines dating back to 1900.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Consumer oriented health information from the National Library of Medicine, including a Medical Dictionary, a Medical Encyclopedia, health news, tutorials and more.
Health Databases from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
A health-focused subset of EBSCO Host databases, including Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO), Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO), Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO), and SportDiscus (EBSCO). These databases can be searched simultaneously or independently.

Open Access

What's open access?

Open Access (OA) articles are free, open to anyone to read, don't require any institutional log in credentials, and carry legal permission for open use. If you're interested in learning more, visit our Open Access guide.

A few of the 500+ open access medical journals and public health journals are listed below along with the link to the directory of open access journals.

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window

Other Online Resources

Database Finder (A to Z List)

Not finding what you're looking for? The Databases A-Z Guide is a complete, alphabetical list of databases that Oxy subscribes to.

Databases A-Z