Search several historic American newspaper and periodical databases, including archives of the Liberator (1831-1865), Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1885), the Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), and many more.
This database is the definitive index of scholarship covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, with an index of 1,700 journals and a breadth from prehistory to present. From EBSCO.
Includes 2,009 authors, approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs, and 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database.
A landmark collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, providing a personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives.
Women and Social Movements in the United States is a database resource for students of U.S. women's history. The collection has a vast array of primary documents from over 2,300 authors, including multimedia and full-text archives.
The Voices of Democracy project is designed to promote the study of great speeches and public debates. The emphasis of the project is on the actual words of those who, throughout American history, have defined the country’s guiding principles, debated the great social and political controversies of the nation’s history, and shaped the identity and character of the American people.
Literature Databases for American Studies Research
Women Writers Online is the database of the Women Writers Project (WWP). It contains full-text editions of more than 100 texts by English and American women published between 1500 and 1830, and includes introductory essays written by contemporary scholars.
IRP researches the causes and consequences of poverty and inequality in the United States. We bring together social scientists from across research disciplines such as economics, sociology, social work, and demography. The result is a well-rounded understanding of poverty issues.
Some open access publications may not be included in the article databases listed on this page. Searching for American Studies in the DOAJ (Directory of Open Access journals) can lead you to these open access resources. A few are listed below.