Research Guides: UEP 300 Environmental Law and Policy: Finding Law & Legal Resources

California State Law

HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary content in subject areas including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law and public policy.
Additional HeinOnline Collections now available for Oxy users: Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment, a comprehensive overview of sports and entertainment law; Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law, an archive of indigenous treaties, tribal codes, constitutions, and more; Water Rights & Resources, a database for understanding state & federal laws governing water.

California's Legislative Information
Site provides access to unannotated California statutes as well as information about past, and pending, bills in the state legislature from 1993 to the present. Accompanying each bill are links out to relevant legislative history documents.
California's Office of Administrative Law
Includes information about California's administrative agencies and their functions as well as links out to a searchable California Code of Regulations and Notice Register.
California Courts
Provides free access to California case law, court rules, and preferred jury instructions.
Justia: U.S. Law, Case Law, Codes, Statutes & Regulations
Federal and state court decisions, codes, statues and regulations plus selected case filings from the U.S. federal district and appellate courts.

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Online research service that provides a comprehensive collection of news, business, and law related information for students.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary content in subject areas including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law and public policy.
Additional HeinOnline Collections now available for Oxy users: Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment, a comprehensive overview of sports and entertainment law; Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law, an archive of indigenous treaties, tribal codes, constitutions, and more; Water Rights & Resources, a database for understanding state & federal laws governing water.

United States Reports (official opinions of the U.S. Supreme Court)
Search by Authoring Justice, Major Case Topic and Volume
Oyez
Multimedia archive devoted to the U.S. Supreme Court including all audio recorded in the Court since October 1955.
Justia: U.S. Law, Case Law, Codes, Statutes & Regulations
Federal and state court decisions, codes, statues and regulations plus selected case filings from the U.S. federal district and appellate courts.
Cornell's Legal Information Institute
An open access site which includes a community created legal encyclopedia (called Wex) as well as a directory of reputable online locations where state, federal, and foreign law can be found. This directory links one out to cases, codes, and other resources from the jurisdiction.

United Nations International Law
Includes an overview of the development and codification of international legal principles, information on treaties, and links out to international courts and tribunals (including the International Court of Justice and the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda).