Occidental College’s Special Collections and College Archives (SCCA) is committed to providing open, equitable access to its collections and services in accordance with the professional standards adopted by the Society of American Archivists, the Rare Book and Manuscript Section, the American Library Association, and the Association of College and Research Libraries. SCCA will not deny any researcher access to its materials, grant privileged or exclusive use of materials to any researcher, or conceal the existence of any body of materials from any researcher unless required to do so by law, Occidental College policy, or donor or purchase stipulation.
Search Our Collections
Learn about our collections on the SCCA website. A limited selection of our collections is currently available digitally on Calisphere. Videos may be accessed on Vimeo and audio on SoundCloud. For more information about our collections, please contact SCCA through Ask Us.
Reading Room Access
Please Note: Due to our limited staff, Reading Room hours are subject to change without notice. Appointments are recommended.
The Reading Room is available for use on a walk-in basis, Tuesday - Thursday 10:00am - 3:00 pm, or by appointment.
Appointments are available to current students, faculty, and staff of Occidental College, visiting researchers, and the community. The SCCA Reading Room is located on the 3rd floor of the Mary Norton Clapp Library in the Academic Commons.
The Reading Room is closed on campus holidays.
To schedule an appointment, please submit your request at least 24 hours in advance to Ask Us.
Research Consultations
Anyone may request a research consultation with our knowledgeable Special Collections staff. Please submit your request to Ask Us
Requesting Digital Surrogates
Please submit requests for digital surrogate to Ask Us. SCCA reserves the right to refuse a duplication request if, in the judgment of staff, fulfillment of the order would either damage the materials or risk violation of copyright law.
Users of SCCA materials are expected to abide by all copyright laws.
The Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.” If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use,” that user may be liable for copyright infringement.
SCCA is only able to grant permission to publish or use materials for which we hold copyright. For all other materials, researchers must obtain copyright clearance from the copyright holder(s). SCCA is not responsible for the misuse of copyrighted material.
Citing SCCA Materials – Preferred Citation:
[Identification of item], [Collection Name], [Collection Number], Special Collections and College Archives, Occidental College, Los Angeles, CA.