Black Studies

Full-text newspapers and magazines from alternative, independent presses, providing a multidisciplinary alternative to mainstream media perspectives.

Covering the period of 1830-1865, the collection presents the massive, international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves.  The approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show the full range of their activities in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, France and Germany.

Website focused on Black Freedom, featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.

A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more.

A landmark collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history.  In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.

Combines GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch and AltPressWatch into one platform focusing on ethnic, minority, and native presses, grassroots newspapers and magazines, and journals.

Full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. From ProQuest.

Offers an in-depth look at the history of race through essays, articles, reports, and other reliable sources while providing critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity, and inclusiveness.

Multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more.

Over 1.5 million pages of in-depth surveys, reports, and research from more than six hundred North American cities and urban agencies. Part of Policy Commons.

Information on social issues including articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, interactive maps, videos, and streaming audio.

Over 12 million working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media from more than 35,000 municipalities, IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers. 

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Includes content from the Chicago Defender between 1909 and 1975.

Access to millions of historical newspaper articles from the late 1600s to the current day. 

Digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists and the extreme right-wing during the latter half of the 20th century.

Search several historic American newspaper and periodical databases, including archives of the Liberator (1831-1865), Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1885), the Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), and many more.

Search the full text of the New York Times (1851 - 2019). View results as page images.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.

Search the full text of the Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1999). View results as page images.