This is the "Home" page of the "American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Occidental College Home Library Home Occidental College Home

American Studies  

Last Updated: Mar 12, 2012 URL: http://libguides.oxy.edu/americanstudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Reference Sources

  • Oxford Companion to American Literature  Icon
    Includes over 2,000 biographical profiles of important American authors. There are also more than 1,100 full summaries of important American literary works.
  • Dictionary of American History  Icon
    Covers all aspects of American history except for Biography.
  • American Decades  Icon
    Cross-disciplinary source for researchers who need to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history.
  • Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States  Icon
    Details current geographical, social, and political data, historical narrative, and statistical information on the 50 states, District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Caribbean and Pacific dependencies of the U.S.
  • Encyclopedia of Multicultural America  Icon
    Contains 152 original essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S.

American Studies

American Studies

How Do I Find . . .

BOOKS (Use this tab to explore):

Using the OASys Catalog to search Oxy's Collection.

Trying other library catalogs to find materials outside of Oxy.

Learning how to locate books on the shelves (called "stacks").

Using subject headings to execute more precise searches.

Finding new American Studies publications owned by Oxy and partner libraries.

ARTICLES (Use this tab to explore):

Using databases to find scholarly article citations and full text.

Identifying major American Studies publications.

Locating online and print journals accessible through Oxy.

MULTIMEDIA (Use this tab to explore):

Finding sound recordings and video related to American history, literature, and culture.

Viewing images related to American Studies (including digitized posters, pamphlets, artifacts, government documents and other resources.)

 

Beginning your Research on an American Studies Topic

Topic Finding and Thesis Formation

  • Follow your interest AND pay particular attention to the assignment you have been given. Make sure you understand what your Professor is asking for before diving into your research. 
  • Note some topics that interest you and then play around with narrowing and broadening these topics. For example, if I liked the work of Ralph Waldo Emerson, I could investigate him, the broader topic of Transcendentalism, or the narrower topic of how one of his works - like Society and Solitude - was received.
  • Look for tensions, anomalies and unanswered questions.
  • What assumptions have been made in previous scholarship surrounding this topic?
  • What critical approaches have and haven't been taken with this topic?
  • Look for ways you can situate an argument within the context of a larger argument, or in opposition to another argument. 
  • Realize that the scope and focus of your topic will change the more information you locate, read, and analyze. Your preliminary research should help you figure out which aspects of your broader topic you are truly interested in focusing on; in later research, you can hone in on this narrow topic. 

Initial Exploration

  • Encyclopedias that focus on history, culture, and literature including the online/print reference sets listed on this page.
  • Google (Scholar, Web, Images, Books)
  • OxyWorldCat

Writing and Research Resources

Historical Research and Writing 

Evidence explained : citing history sources from artifacts to cyberspace by Elizabeth Shown Mills. D5 .M55 2009 

Writing History: A guide for students by William Kelleher Storey. D16 .S864 2004 

Literary Research and Writing 

The art of literary research by Richard D. Altick and John J. Fenstermaker. PR56 .A68 1993 

General Writing and Research Resources

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) guides

Head of Instruction + Research Support

Profile Image
Marisa Diehl
Contact Info
Academic Commons, Room 222B
323-259-2833
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip