Research Guides: Sociology: Finding Data

Public Data Sets

U.S. Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
Leading source of up-to-date demographic data about the United States people and economy.
ICPSR Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Data archive hosting 16 specialized data collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other social science fields.
IPUMS This link opens in a new window
Database of census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. Users must create a free account to access.
CLASP Center for Law and Social Policy - Data This link opens in a new window
CLASP conducts analysis of national, state, and local data to accurately document racial disparities and disparate policy impacts by race to inform our policy recommendations and advocacy.

Hate Map | Southern Poverty Law Center
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
American National Election Studies
ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation.
World Values Survey
The World Values Survey (www.worldvaluessurvey.org) is a global network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life, led by an international team of scholars, with the WVS association and secretariat headquartered in Stockholm, Sweden.
General Social Survey
Contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings.
Yale ISPS Data Archive
The ISPS Data Archive consists primarily of social science research based on experiments. The Archive is organized by study and includes the data, analysis code, requisite documentation, and other associated materials.
State of Working America Data Library
Provides researchers, media, and the public with easily accessible, up-to-date, and comprehensive historical data on the American labor force. It is compiled from Economic Policy Institute analysis of government data sources. Use it to research wages, inequality, and other economic indicators over time and among demographic groups.
State Fact Sheets: Economic and Political Impact of Immigrants, Latinos and Asians
State by state immigration information from American Immigration Council.
World Bank
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.

Data Mapping Tools

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Mapping and analytics tool with applications for research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community development, public administration, public health, political science, education, business, economics, statistics, geography and more.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information.

LAPD Crime Mapping
Interactive maps of crimes by type and neighborhood Sept 2011-Present.