Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need to get more familiar with topics in the intersection of gender, race and class? Encyclopedia and reference databases provide background information, basic statistics, images and even videos to get you started.
Award winning resource for background information and balanced discussion of hot issues in public debate.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Offers over 200 encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
Find journal articles from a variety of disciplines including art, law, sciences.
Full-text archive of high-impact academic journals in many disciplines. The archive does NOT include recent issues -- included journals generally begin with the first issue and stop 3 to 5 years ago. You can browse journals by discipline or by title, and you can search articles by keyword. Oxy subscribes to eight JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I through VII and the Ecology and Botany collection.
Full-text of hundreds of journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from scholarly publishers, mostly university presses. Oxy subscribes to the Standard Collection.
Narrow your research by using a subject or discipline specific database.
America: History & Life
This database is the definitive index of scholarship covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, with an index of 1,700 journals and a breadth from prehistory to present. From EBSCO.
Current and historical newspapers provide great sociohistorical information into issues of gender, race and class.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times
Search the full text of the Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1995 and growing). View results as page images.
Full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. From ProQuest.