Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero setup: Adding citations from an index/database

How to install Zotero and its associated plugins, as well as, how to use Zotero efficiently.

Getting a single citation from a database into Zotero

  • Conduct a search in the database. In this demonstration we will conduct a search in the JSTOR database but the process is the same for NUsearch or any library database.
  • When you have found a specific record that you want to export to Zotero locate the white article icon and click on it.

  • A status note will appear in the lower right corner of your screen telling you that the citation has been saved to your Zotero library.

Getting multiple citations from a database into Zotero

  • Conduct a search in the database. In this demonstration we will conduct a search in the JSTOR database but the process is the same for any library database.
  • Once you have a screen with a list of citations you want to export to your Zotero library click on the 'folder icon' in your browser bar. 

  • A box listing all of the citations that were included on the first page of search results will pop up. Select the citations you want to export to your Zotero library and then click 'OK'. 

  • A status note will appear in the lower right corner of your screen telling you that the selected citations have been saved in your Zotero library.  Zotero also identifies the correct citation type, such as book, article, book chapter, etc.