Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recorded or Transcribed Interview Resources
"Osama Bin Laden Tapes"
Website has been designed to allow non-Arabic speakers to listen to material featured in The Audacious Ascetic while reading English translations in real-time as the recordings unfold. As the book demonstrates, much of the meaning of bin Laden’s words and the significance of Al-Qa’ida for his early primary audiences was lost when edited and converted to print, video, and electronic media for global consumption. These recorded excerpts have been selected and produced specifically to accompany the book. They are best contextualized in tandem with the perspectives and arguments therein
Avner Cohen Collection
The Avner Cohen Collection features exciting new materials regarding the development of the Israeli nuclear program, including interviews with key policymakers and scientists from Israel, the United States, and France that shed new light on the development of the Israeli nuclear program.
Middle East Women's Activism (SOAS Digital Collections)
"Middle East Women’s Activism" digital archive is a collection of interviews with 96 women of different generations in Egypt, Jordan and Lebanon, which form the basis of a monograph, entitled, Embodying Geopolitics: Generations of Women’s Activism in Egypt, Jordan and Lebanon. All interviews were conducted by Nicola Pratt, University of Warwick, in 2013-2014 as part of a British Academy Mid-Career Fellowship exploring the relationship between gender and geopolitics in the context of the Middle East.
Palestinian Oral History Archive
The Palestinian Oral History Archive is a project to digitize, index, catalog, preserve, and provide access (through a searchable digital platform) to an
archival collection of around 1,000 hours of testimonies with first generation Palestinians and other Palestinian communities in Lebanon. POHA documents the life stories of Palestinians residing in refugee camps and different communities in Lebanon. The Archive's main focus is personal accounts surrounding the Nakba, a defining moment in Palestinian history and collective experience. Furthermore, the collection contains life narratives of the pre-Nakba period in pre-1948 Palestine, folktales and songs, as well as stories of the women in Ein el-Helwe camp after its destruction in 1982.
Palestinian Oral History Map
The project is a means to navigate the POHA oral history platform, which contains over one thousand hours of oral testimonies from Palestinians who lived through the Nakba, describing everyday life and culture in Palestine before 1948, as well as their experiences of displacement and exile.
The interactive map allows you to explore the testimonies based on the historic landmarks that they describe—from schools, hospitals and factories to rivers, valleys and mountains—and to see these in the context of detailed historic maps from the 1940s that Visualizing Palestine helped to make available through Palestine Open Maps (POM).
Rare Books and Special Collections - American University in Cairo
The Rare Books and Special Collections Digital Library (RBSCDL), established in Fall 2011, provides a platform for Rare Books and Special Collections Library and Archives collection managers to publish born digital and digital surrogates of cultural heritage materials. Resources from the University Archives, Rare and Special Books, Archives and Manuscripts Collections, Oral History Interviews, Regional Architecture Collections, and Photography Collections may be included in the Rare Books and Special Collections Digital Library. Further, the digital library supports collaborative digitization and digital collection projects. The library’s collection policies and content are managed by the Rare Books and Special Collections Library and technical support is supplied by University Academic Computing Technologies.
Rowayat - Literary journal emerging from Egypt
Our vision is to create a space where high quality literary work can be read and be accessible. A space for both emerging and established writers, who dream and write in English. This literary journal, will give a voice to Egyptian writers who express themselves creatively in English. A way for writers of this generation to express themselves. Also to be included in this journal are Egyptian writers who are abroad, and foreign writers who live in Egypt. If we had an association it would be called the Egyptian English Fiction Writers Association, and this would be its journal.
This journal is to feature/highlight only works of fiction. Future Egyptian writers can look back, read, understand maybe get a glimpse of what it was like to write in Egypt today. Maybe also what it means to be Egyptian today. What it's like to be creative today in Egypt.Any non-fiction will be either interviews with renowned/successful authors or about something relating to English fiction writing in Egypt. All the visuals will include Art that reflects the fiction included. The journal will be issued bi-annually. Arabic fiction already has several literary journals. So Arabic fiction will not be included and neither will Arabic in translation
Tarih: Graduate History Journal
Tarih: Graduate History Journal, a peer-reviewed scholarly electronic journal published yearly under the auspices of the Department of History at Boğaziçi University, was launched in 2009 with the aim of encouraging graduate students’ research in the field of history. It is committed to the world-historical and comparative perspectives, covering a wide range of areas and periods, and representing diverse approaches to the study of the past. It also contains a review section of books published in English and other languages, as well as regular interviews with prominent scholars in the field.
Turkish Policy Quarterly
Provides an international forum for practitioners, opinion leaders and researchers on Turkey's foreign policy, international relations and economics. The journal publishes articles on current affairs, opinions, policy pieces, review articles and interviews