Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arts of the Islamic World
Smarthistory is an open educational resource for art history, with the aim to make high-quality introductory art history content freely available to anyone, anywhere. This is a platform for the discipline where art historians can contribute in their areas of expertise and learners come from across the globe. Besides still images, the resource also offers hundreds of videos which are being translated into dozens of languages. Dr. Beth Harris and Dr. Steven Zucker originally created Smarthistory and are the executive editors. The original resource was merged with Khan Academy in 2011
British Library - Digital Access to Persian Manuscripts
From the pocket miscellany (Add.MS.27261), with its exquisite miniature illuminations, compiled in 1410-11 for Timur's grandson Sultan Jalal al-Din Iskandar, ruler of Fars, to unique historical documents and literary manuscripts, the Persian Manuscripts collection at the British Library is one of the most significant collections in the world in both size and importance. Consisting of over 11,000 works in almost as many volumes, it combines the two world-class collections of the British Museum and the India Office Library. These manuscripts originate from the whole of the Persianate world, in particular Iran, Central Asia and India and range in time from the 12th century to recent years, representing most of the traditional fields of humanities and religious studies. Many of the Persian manuscripts are copies of rare texts, with examples of some of the finest illustrated Mughal, Timurid and Safavid paintings.
British National Archives
Our collection is one of the largest in the world, containing over 11 million historical government and public records. From Domesday Book to modern government papers and digital files, our collection includes paper and parchment, digital records and websites, photographs, posters, maps, drawings and paintings.
As a general rule, government records that have been selected for permanent preservation are sent to us when they are 30 years old, though the government has begun its move towards releasing records when they are 20 years old. Many are also transferred to us earlier under the Freedom of Information Act.
BÜLENT ECEVİT ARTICLES - Arts and Politics in the 1950s
This online database consists of some 1,500 Turkish- and English-language articles written by Bülent Ecevit between 1950 and 1961, the majority of them for the prominent daily paper Ulus. While much is known of Ecevit’s long career as a statesman–beginning with his service as Minister of Labor 1961 and lasting well into the 2000s–this early chapter in his life remains largely unknown. Yet the cultural commentary, art criticism, political analyses and travel writings that he produced in the 1950s constitute an extraordinarily prolific and consistent body of work on the importance of civic culture and democracy. The columns reveal the seeds of his later political thought, as well as giving a new perspective on the importance of the arts to his intellectual life.
The Islamic State (ISIS) regularly puts out a glossy propaganda magazine aimed at recruiting jihadists from the West. It is sophisticated, slick, beautifully produced and printed in several languages including English...
'Dabiq' as it is called, bills itself as "a periodical magazine focusing on the issues of tawhid (unity), manhaj (truth-seeking), hijrah (migration), jihad (holy war) and jama'ah (community). It will also contain photo reports, current events, and informative articles on matters relating to the Islamic State."
It portrays the Islamic State as they see themselves: boasting of their victories and painting a romantic image of the restoration of an Islamic golden age and the heralding of a glorious new Caliphate based on holy war.
Ernst Herzfeld Papers from The Metropolitan Museum’s Department of Islamic Art
The Ernst Herzfeld Papers housed in the Metropolitan Museum are divided between the Department of Islamic Art and the Department of Ancient Near Eastern Art. The museum’s holdings consist of several thousand items from Herzfeld's archives, including photograph negatives, photographs, original drawings and paintings, clippings, correspondence, maps, sketchbooks, notebooks, squeezes and manuscripts of scholarly work. These materials span Herzfeld’s professional career from his collegiate studies in Berlin (1899-1902) to his residence as a senior scholar at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton (1936-1944). Items document both original findings and synthetic research pertaining to sites and monuments in Iraq, Iran, Syria, Turkey, India and Egypt. While representing only part of his archive, the Metropolitan Museum's holdings are integral to understanding Herzfeld's scholarly career.
Fyke Collection of Afghan War Rugs
The peoples of Afghanistan have a rich and distinguished textile history. The Baluch and the Turkman, the Tajik and the Hazara, are among the tribal groups that produce embroideries, felts and knotted pile woven textiles that reflect their identities, beliefs, and ways of life. The Baluch, for example, were nomadic herders whose belongings needed to be portable. They are known in the West as the producers of deeply coloured pile carpets of unprecedented lushness. Made entirely by hand, pile carpets were prized possessions that served as bedding or seating and could be easily rolled up for transport.
The Graphics of Revolution and War - Iranian Poster Arts
Posters have long acted as effective tools to disseminate various ideological messages during periods of revolution and war. Designed for mass distribution and aimed towards a large public audience, they embed social, political, and religious concerns that frequently are articulated through both text and image. The Graphics of Revolution and War exhibit explores how posters served as powerful modalities for mobilization and communication during the Iranian Revolution of 1979 and the Iran-Iraq War (1980-88). This permanent online exhibit was collaboratively produced in conjunction with a loan exhibition of the University of Chicago’s posters on display at the Indiana University Art Museum from October 15 to December 18, 2011.
Islamic Painted Page: A database of Islamic Arts of the Book
Welcome to the Islamic Painted Page database - a huge database of references for Persian paintings, Ottoman paintings, Arab paintings and Mughal paintings. This site enables you to locate printed reproductions, commentaries and weblinks for thousands of Islamic paintings, including illuminated "carpet" pages, decorated Quran pages, and book bindings from over 230 collections all over the world.
The Mahmoud Salih [Sudan] Collection
Paul’s collection, at the time, amounted to about 850 books. I requested of him that he continue looking to add books, documents, maps and paintings to the collection, He has been doing that for me for the last ten years, with the collection now boasting approximately 2,000 books, double that number of historical documents, pamphlets and maps, paintings and photographs.
Online Publications of the Ashmolean Museum (University of Oxford)
The Eastern Art collections at the Ashmolean comprise around 30,000 objects including ceramics, textiles, sculpture, metalwork, paintings, prints, and other decorative arts.
Predominantly from Asia and the Middle East, the collection spans over 5,000 years of cultural and artistic development.
Oriental Rug Review
A Bimonthly Journal of Oriental Rugs and Other Textiles
President Gamal Abdel Nasser
The site includes several audio-visual documents, including:
51,512 photographs, 1,124 portraits, 1,359 audio-visual and read speeches, 1,209 documentaries, in addition to the Nasser and Culture collection, which includes plastic and applied arts, songs of the revolution, poetry, and Nasser’s writings.
It includes a collection of Egyptian documents that encompass days of Nasser from the Egyptian Press, handwritten papers, the Central Committee for the Socialist Union sessions, the Revolutionary Command Council decrees, cards exchanged between family members, minutes of the Ministers Council sessions and some publications. It also includes a complete set of documents representing official correspondence between Egypt and each of Great Britain and the USA.
REORIENT – Middle Eastern Arts & Culture
REORIENT is an online magazine celebrating contemporary Middle Eastern arts & culture. As the name suggests, we’re here to provide a fresh and modern perspective on topics related to the arts & culture of the Middle East, and positively change the way people – including Middle Easterners themselves – view this vast, diverse, and culturally-rich region.
Founded in 2012 by Joobin Bekhrad, an Iranian-Canadian entrepreneur and lover of all things Middle Eastern, REORIENT is based in Toronto, Canada, and is made possible by the efforts of contributors all over the world.
Sakıp Sabancı Museum's Arts of Book and Calligraphy Collection
Sabancı University Sakıp Sabancı Museum's Arts of Book and Calligraphy Collection includes copies of the Koran, prayer books, calligraphic compositions in the kıt'a form, calligraphic albums, calligraphic panels, hilyes, imperial firmans and berats bearing the royal tuğra (imperial cipher) by renowned calligraphers dating from the late 14th to 20th centuries, and calligraphy tools and equipment.
St. Cyril and Methodius Digital Library
The digitalization of valuable materials from the St. St. Cyril and Methodius National Library collections started in 2006. In autumn 2007 these digital images became accessible for users through the library’s website. By the beginning of 2014 have been digitalized and included in the Digital Library nearly 330 000 files - manuscripts, old printed books, unpublished documents from the Bulgarian Historical Archive and Oriental Department, portraits and photos, graphical and cartographical editions, Bulgarian newspapers and journals from 1844 to 1944 – images and their metadata. Users could search in the Electronic archive through the specialized system DocuWare. The digitalized originals are on free access for users.