Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Political Poster Resources
British National Archives
Our collection is one of the largest in the world, containing over 11 million historical government and public records. From Domesday Book to modern government papers and digital files, our collection includes paper and parchment, digital records and websites, photographs, posters, maps, drawings and paintings.
As a general rule, government records that have been selected for permanent preservation are sent to us when they are 30 years old, though the government has begun its move towards releasing records when they are 20 years old. Many are also transferred to us earlier under the Freedom of Information Act.
The Islamic State (ISIS) regularly puts out a glossy propaganda magazine aimed at recruiting jihadists from the West. It is sophisticated, slick, beautifully produced and printed in several languages including English...
'Dabiq' as it is called, bills itself as "a periodical magazine focusing on the issues of tawhid (unity), manhaj (truth-seeking), hijrah (migration), jihad (holy war) and jama'ah (community). It will also contain photo reports, current events, and informative articles on matters relating to the Islamic State."
It portrays the Islamic State as they see themselves: boasting of their victories and painting a romantic image of the restoration of an Islamic golden age and the heralding of a glorious new Caliphate based on holy war.
The Graphics of Revolution and War - Iranian Poster Arts
Posters have long acted as effective tools to disseminate various ideological messages during periods of revolution and war. Designed for mass distribution and aimed towards a large public audience, they embed social, political, and religious concerns that frequently are articulated through both text and image. The Graphics of Revolution and War exhibit explores how posters served as powerful modalities for mobilization and communication during the Iranian Revolution of 1979 and the Iran-Iraq War (1980-88). This permanent online exhibit was collaboratively produced in conjunction with a loan exhibition of the University of Chicago’s posters on display at the Indiana University Art Museum from October 15 to December 18, 2011.
Kurdish Digital Library
This library contains over 10,000 monographs about the Kurds, in 25 languages, several tens of thousands of published documents, collections of reviews and newspapers, photographs, videos, post cards and posters, as well as audio archives and music recordings.
This rich documentation fills over a third of the Institute's premises as well as a substantial part of its warehouse, located in a Paris suburb. References to these monographs and the principal documents have been computerized
Middle Eastern Film Posters Digitization Initiative
Princeton University Library’s Arabic Movie Posters and Lobby Cards Collection was acquired in Lebanon in 2008 and is comprised of 1,748 posters and 768 lobby cards. Egyptian posters predominate with 1,474, reflecting the unchallenged prominence of Egypt in the production of Arabic feature films. Some 150 posters are for Lebanese films, 113 Syrian and 11 Iraqi. The purpose of the posters was to advertize coming attractions, and they represent films produced from 1935 to 2007. Most of the posters are on standard Arab single-sheet size paper. However, many are on non-standard sheets. Similarly, there are posters that are composed on multiple sheets, including some on twenty-four sheets meant for display on the side of multi-story buildings. The lobbies cards, also for coming attractions and meant for display in theater lobbies, are composed of multiple still shots taken on movie sets and affixed to standard–sized cardboard. They represent 172 films produced in Egypt (145), Lebanon (13) and Syria (14) from 1964 to 2007.
Palestine Poster Project Archives
Palestine Poster Project Archives features almost 8,000 posters which are searchable according to artists’ names, iconography, date of publication, source, theme, exhibition record and other variables. The PPPA also contains almost 3,000 Zionist/Israeli posters dating from the turn of the 20th century up to the present.
Political Posters of Lebanon Civil War (1975-1990)
Signs of Conflict Archive is an online public resource of poster collections from the Lebanese civil war period (1975-90).
The posters have been documented from different sources: political party archives, personal collections of partisans, library collections in and outside Lebanon, and private collectors. Whenever possible, each poster in the archive is annotated with its collection source.
Poster Collection at the American University of Beirut
Political posters collected between the 1960s and the 1980s.
This collection covers two main topics: Palestinian Question and Lebanon and the Lebanese Civil War.