Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Document Collection Resources
American University in Cairo Board of Trustees Meetings Minutes
The American University in Cairo - Board of Trustees Meetings Minutes digital collection primarily includes meeting agendas and minutes, as well as additional documentation such as budgets, correspondence, reports, and memoranda. The collection includes minutes ranging from the first meeting of the Board of Trustees of Cairo Christian University on November 30, 1914 to the American University at Cairo’s meeting on December 19, 1959
Arabian Gulf Digital Archive
The Arabian Gulf Digital Archive (“AGDA”) is an online archive that has been created to showcase historical and cultural material that tells the story of the rich, intriguing and complex history of the Arabian Gulf. An accessible resource, it serves to offer digital material that spans two centuries, documenting events and personalities that have shaped and defined the region. The contents offer an insight into the past with some material previously unseen by the general public. AGDA contains, among other things, letters, memos, transcripts, photos and official correspondence from leaders and governments that shaped the events of their time. It’s a free and open resource for students, researchers, enthusiasts and anyone who is curious to explore the rich and varied past of the Arabian Gulf.
Avalon Project - Yale
The Avalon project at Yale Law School is an online resource for documents in Law, History and Diplomacy.
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Digital Palestinian Archive
The Birzeit University Digital Palestinian Archive (BZUDPA) is dedicated to documenting the life of Palestinians and their institutions over the past century, from Ottoman times to the present.The project, launched in 2011, aims to preserve a large variety of documents, written and audio-visual, relating to the history of the Palestinian people over the past century, and donated by individuals, families and popular organizations. Birzeit, as a national university, is fully committed to placing its technical and academic resources at the service of this project, which continually digitizes, places online and makes available a wide variety of documents.
Documents on British Policy Overseas
Documents on British Policy Overseas (DBPO) is a fully searchable collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO), shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the 20th C. It is based on three print series which form a record of British peacetime diplomacy since the end of the 19th C: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and Documents on British Policy Overseas. DBPO is produced in collaboration between ProQuest and the FCO.
Ernst Herzfeld Papers from The Metropolitan Museum’s Department of Islamic Art
The Ernst Herzfeld Papers housed in the Metropolitan Museum are divided between the Department of Islamic Art and the Department of Ancient Near Eastern Art. The museum’s holdings consist of several thousand items from Herzfeld's archives, including photograph negatives, photographs, original drawings and paintings, clippings, correspondence, maps, sketchbooks, notebooks, squeezes and manuscripts of scholarly work. These materials span Herzfeld’s professional career from his collegiate studies in Berlin (1899-1902) to his residence as a senior scholar at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton (1936-1944). Items document both original findings and synthetic research pertaining to sites and monuments in Iraq, Iran, Syria, Turkey, India and Egypt. While representing only part of his archive, the Metropolitan Museum's holdings are integral to understanding Herzfeld's scholarly career.
FOREIGN RELATIONS OF THE UNITED STATES
The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department’s Office of the Historian and printed volumes are available from the Government Printing Office.
FRUS begins with the administration of Abraham Lincoln in 1861. There are two cumulative indexes covering 1861-1899 and 1900-1918. The organization of FRUS is generally chronological, but the dates of the volumes do not necessarily reflect the dates of documentary history. For example, the volumes for 1900-1918 do not include the records dealing with World War I or the Russian Revolution. Each volume has a subject and author index. There is also typically a table of sources and abbreviations at the beginning of each volume.
Hosted by the University of Wisconsin - Madison.
Ignaz Goldziher's Correspondence Archive
An online database of over 13000 letters in the Library of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Letters from the Imperial Legation in Brussels (1849–1914)
Ottoman Diplomats is a digitization project of the research group Power in History: Centre for Political History at the University of Antwerp (UA). It offers online access to a selection of diplomatic documents from the Imperial Legation in Brussels (1849–1914).
Next to telegrams and periodic diplomatic reports by Ottoman diplomatic agents (dispatches, dépêches) in Brussels and replies and instructions by their superiors in Istanbul, the collection also contains some letters by Ottoman consuls in Belgium and by Ottoman ambassadors or ministers in other European capitals.
Ocean of Paper Database
An Ocean of Paper seeks to stimulate new research in the social history of the Sultanate by collecting, cataloging, and publishing the thousands of deeds (called waraqas) produced by Omanis in South Arabia and East Africa during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. These deeds, which exist in private and public collections in Oman and East Africa, recount transactions in money, property, and commodities between Omanis from different parts of the country who engaged in activities around the Indian Ocean. Individually, they tell stories of the lives, fortunes, and trajectories of Omani migrants; together, they constitute some of the richest written records we have on any community in the region, and promise to completely reshape the foundations of Omani social and economic history in the Indian Ocean.
Ocean of Paper is a part of Indian Ocean in World History educational resources project of Sultan Qaboos Cultural Center.
President Gamal Abdel Nasser
The site includes several audio-visual documents, including:
51,512 photographs, 1,124 portraits, 1,359 audio-visual and read speeches, 1,209 documentaries, in addition to the Nasser and Culture collection, which includes plastic and applied arts, songs of the revolution, poetry, and Nasser’s writings.
It includes a collection of Egyptian documents that encompass days of Nasser from the Egyptian Press, handwritten papers, the Central Committee for the Socialist Union sessions, the Revolutionary Command Council decrees, cards exchanged between family members, minutes of the Ministers Council sessions and some publications. It also includes a complete set of documents representing official correspondence between Egypt and each of Great Britain and the USA.
Qatar Digital Library
The Qatar Digital Library (QDL) is making a vast archive featuring the cultural and historical heritage of the Gulf and wider region freely available online for the first time. It includes archives, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs and much more, complete with contextualised explanatory notes and links, in both English and Arabic.
These documents were not designed with an eye to history as part of an authoritative archive. They are working papers, often prepared in great haste under difficult circumstances. While some are highly-polished, many were never even edited. They contain numerous typos, misspellings, and some outright errors. They need to be handled as archival material. Despite my strong personal inclination to go back in and clean them up, I have concluded to do so would give the impression of a polished, even a sanitized record. Instead, I have put them out the website, warts and all, for readers to draw their own conclusions.
South Asia Open Archive
The South Asia Open Archives (SAOA), a subset of the South Asia Materials Project (SAMP), creates and maintains a collection of open access materials for the study of South Asia. This major collaborative initiative is aimed at addressing the current scarcity of digital resources pertinent to South Asia studies and at making collections more widely accessible both to North American scholars and to researchers worldwide.
Waguih Ghali - Unpublished Papers, Diaries and Manuscript Fragments
Diaries (1964-1968) and Manuscript Fragments digitized by Cornell University Library.