Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Afghanistan in 2016: A Survey of the Afghan People
The national mood in Afghanistan is at a record low, and Afghans are pessimistic because of insecurity, corruption, and rising unemployment and slow job growth. At the same time, more Afghans, particularly rural Afghan men, now support women’s right to vote and women’s right to work outside the home than ever before. The 2016 Survey of the Afghan People polled 12,658 Afghan respondents from 16 ethnic groups across all 34 provinces, including insecure and physically challenging environments. The annual survey is the longest-running and broadest nationwide survey of Afghan attitudes and opinions. Since 2004, the Survey has gathered the opinions of more than 87,000 Afghan men and women, providing a unique longitudinal portrait of evolving public perceptions of security, the economy, governance and government services, elections, media, women’s issues, and migration
Aga Khan Historic Cities Programme
The Aga Khan Historic Cities Programme became operational in 1992 to show best practice to governments and decision makers and to highlight historic sites could become assets and economic trampolines and not burdens on scare resources. The Programme implements conservation, urban regeneration and park projects in historically significant sites of the Islamic world. It does so over long time-frames, by raising local standards and coupling monument and public open space conservation with environmental and community development, thus engaging in sustainable urban redevelopment projects, which offer a platform for new socio-economic uses tied to education, health, leisure facilities, and amenities and services that have significant educational importance for practitioners and decision-makers.
Centre d’études et de documentation économiques, juridiques et sociales
Le Centre d’études et de documentation économiques, juridiques et sociales (Cedej) est un centre de recherche pluridisciplinaire, dont les travaux portent principalement sur l’Égypte et le Soudan contemporains. Il publie également, depuis 1990, la revue Égypte/Monde arabe, en ligne sur Revues.org.
The Chronicles is the periodic publication of the Economic and Business History Research Center (EBHRC) of The American University in Cairo (AUC). It encourages an interdisciplinary understanding of the economic and business history of Egypt and the Middle East, encompassing social, anthropological and political dimensions. Our articles draw on, but are not limited to, the primary sources available at EBHRC, including oral narratives and private papers. The Chronicles creates a forum for the dissemination of knowledge. It is a space for research in the making, a venue for the work of young scholars, and a brainstorming platform among academics.
Dossiers: La Syrie
Alors que la Syrie traverse une violente secousse sociétale et politique, OpenEdition Books propose de décaler notre regard sur cet espace pour saisir les dynamiques variées qui sont à l’œuvre à Damas ou Alep, à Homs ou dans les campagnes du nord. En croisant lectures historiques et contemporaines, analyses littéraires et sciences politiques, en passant par l’économie, les études culturelles et de la religion, ce dossier vous invite à comprendre la Syrie à travers une multiplicité et une contextualisation qui dépasse l’urgence médiatique.
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981
This collection is an essential resource for understanding the events in the Middle East during the 1970s.
It addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power. Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined in detail, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers like the United States and Russia.
Iqtisadi: Middle East Economy
The Moshe Dayan Center has launched a monthly publication to expand its coverage of economic issues in the Middle East and North Africa. Iqtisadi ("economics" in Arabic) will offer several short, in-depth analyses of aspects of political economy and business in the region.
Islam and Muslim Societies
Islam and Muslim Societies is an academic refereed journal published under the authority of Center for Social Action and Development (CSAD). It is an online bi-annual publication (Coming in January and June), International in character though South Asia is its special area of interest and coverage. The Journal does not promote any particular point of view or ideology.
Islam and Muslim Societies is primarily a forum for scholars across the disciplines of Sociology/Social Anthropology, Economics, History, Political Science, Law, Philosophy, and other related streams and provides open space for research and dialogue on Islam (except theological debates/issues) and Muslim societies across the globe.
The Journal invites contributions in the form of original articles- theoretical, empirical and policy analysis-short notes, review articles, book reviews, news relating to research and academic/professional fora and communications.
Israel State Archives
In the State Archives you will find the state documents: discussions of decision-makers, the work of civil servants, forms of interface between citizens and government ministries; Photographs of events, television news from the days before television, maps of the Land of Israel evolving over a hundred and fifty years. Population records. Secret reports. Letters from citizens. Economic, legal, geographical, demographic and administrative materials.
Jordan Journal of International Affairs
The first issue of JJIA was published in the Summer of 2007. The journal deals with international relations in their security, political, economic, cultural, and media dimensions:
Les Cahiers d'EMAM: études sur le Monde arabe et la Méditerranée
Les Cahiers d'EMAM sont une revue interdisciplinaire qui se propose de contribuer à la restitution des savoirs sur le Monde arabe et la Méditerranée, dans leurs interférences avec le reste du monde, autour des questions urbaines et des processus de constructions / reconfigurations territoriales dans leurs dimensions sociales, économiques et politiques en encourageant les idées nouvelles et les démarches comparatives.
The Marsh Arabs Heritage Project
Website and project both appear to be dead.
The marshes of southern Iraq constitute a unique environment, and are of considerable environmental, cultural and economic importance. They have existed for hundreds of thousands of years and have, in the past, covered a significant area of southern Iraq. Their presence has brought numerous benefits to region, including cooling the local climate, providing irrigation and improving the fertility of the land. They have been a haven for plant and animal life.
Ocean of Paper Database
An Ocean of Paper seeks to stimulate new research in the social history of the Sultanate by collecting, cataloging, and publishing the thousands of deeds (called waraqas) produced by Omanis in South Arabia and East Africa during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. These deeds, which exist in private and public collections in Oman and East Africa, recount transactions in money, property, and commodities between Omanis from different parts of the country who engaged in activities around the Indian Ocean. Individually, they tell stories of the lives, fortunes, and trajectories of Omani migrants; together, they constitute some of the richest written records we have on any community in the region, and promise to completely reshape the foundations of Omani social and economic history in the Indian Ocean.
Ocean of Paper is a part of Indian Ocean in World History educational resources project of Sultan Qaboos Cultural Center.
Palestine-Israel Journal of Politics, Economics, and Culture
The Palestine-Israel Journal is a non-profit organization, founded in 1994 by Ziad AbuZayyad and Victor Cygielman, two prominent Palestinian and Israeli journalists, and was established concurrently with the first phases of the Oslo peace process to encourage dialogue between civil societies on both sides and broaden the base of support for the peace process. It was obvious from the start that, alongside the institutional efforts of Palestinians and Israelis, channels of communication must be opened for academics and other intellectuals, opinion and policy makers, grassroots organizations and activists to voice their views and take part in the public debate for a democratic and just solution to the conflict.
This Week in Palestine
This Week in Palestine is the only English-language magazine that is published in occupied Palestine. It is a monthly periodical with a distribution of 12,000 copies reaching all major cities and towns in Palestine. This Week in Palestine takes pride in its editorial section, where prominent Palestinian writers regularly contribute their articles. Being thematic in its approach, different topics are featured each month, such as Palestinian food, economy, health, women, youth, Bethlehem, Jerusalem, cultural centers, and cultural heritage...
Turkish Policy Quarterly
Provides an international forum for practitioners, opinion leaders and researchers on Turkey's foreign policy, international relations and economics. The journal publishes articles on current affairs, opinions, policy pieces, review articles and interviews
U.S. Library of Congress - Country Studies
Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world. Most books in the series deal with a single foreign country, but a few cover several countries or a geographic region. The series includes several books on countries that no longer exist in their original configuration—such as Czechoslovakia, East Germany, the Soviet Union, Sudan, and Yugoslavia. These books remain in the series because they continue to offer valuable historical information and perspective. In some cases, studies on successor states are also part of the series.
Each book was written by a multidisciplinary team of social scientists, who sought to adhere to accepted standards of scholarly objectivity. The books represent the analysis of the authors and should not be construed as an expression of an official U.S. government position, policy, or decision.
University of Utah - Marriott Library Arabic Papyrus, Parchment, and Paper
The Arabic Papyrus, Parchment & Paper Collection at the J. Willard Marriott Library, University of Utah is the largest of its kind in the United States. It contains 770 Arabic documents on papyrus and more than 1300 Arabic documents on paper, as well as several pieces on parchment.
Professor Aziz Suriyal Atiya, founder of the Middle East Center and the Middle East Library, compiled the collection. Dr. Atiya and his wife, Lola, purchased the collection over a period of several years from dealers in Egypt, Beirut, and London. The bulk of the collection originated in Egypt, in addition to a small group of fragments from the University of Chicago. A large number of pieces date to the period between 700 and 850 CE. The collection includes a significant number of documents from the pre-Ottoman period and thus offers unique source material on the political, economic, religious and intellectual life of Egypt during the first two centuries of Islamic rule and the period up to Ottoman domination.
Revue de sciences sociales publiée au Caire par le Cedej (Centre d'études et de documentation économiques, juridiques et sociales), Égypte/Monde arabe s’adresse aussi bien au professionnel de la recherche qu’au public profane en quête de clés de lecture pour comprendre les tensions et les mutations qui travaillent le monde arabe et musulman contemporain et, notamment, l’Égypte. Chaque numéro de la revue est consacré à un thème défini. Après un intermède en coédition avec Complexe (deuxième série, 1999-2003), cette revue née en 1990 est de nouveau éditée par le Cedej. L'intégralité des articles est en ligne ici, excepté le dernier numéro dont seuls les résumés sont disponibles la première année après publication.