Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Women's Studies & Gender and Sexuality
Accessing Muslim Lives
Explore the lives of men and women in the Muslim world – from the sixteenth century to now – through their autobiographical writings. Writings are by Muslims and non-Muslims living in various social, cultural and political contexts. The authors range from scholars, saints and socio-religious reformers to princes, bureaucrats, nationalists, educators, writers and actors. Browse by category, region, time or name. Also access an extensive bibliography of published autobiographical writings from the Muslim world in English or English translation.
Afghanistan in 2016: A Survey of the Afghan People
The national mood in Afghanistan is at a record low, and Afghans are pessimistic because of insecurity, corruption, and rising unemployment and slow job growth. At the same time, more Afghans, particularly rural Afghan men, now support women’s right to vote and women’s right to work outside the home than ever before. The 2016 Survey of the Afghan People polled 12,658 Afghan respondents from 16 ethnic groups across all 34 provinces, including insecure and physically challenging environments. The annual survey is the longest-running and broadest nationwide survey of Afghan attitudes and opinions. Since 2004, the Survey has gathered the opinions of more than 87,000 Afghan men and women, providing a unique longitudinal portrait of evolving public perceptions of security, the economy, governance and government services, elections, media, women’s issues, and migration
Israeli Left Archive
The Israeli Left Archive is devoted mainly to the radical left and the women's peace movement in Israel during the sixties, seventies and the eighties. It is in this period, immediately preceding the introduction of computer technologies, that the bulk of the Kaminer collection was gathered. They stopped collecting material towards the end of the eighties mainly due to the spread of computerized documentation throughout society and the left. From the early nineties, the preservation and the recovery of movement materials became a vastly simpler goal.
JMEWS: Journal of Middle East Women's Studies
This interdisciplinary journal advances the fields of Middle East gender, sexuality, and women's studies through the contributions of academics, artists, and activists from around the globe working in the interpretive social sciences and humanities. JMEWS publishes area-specific research informed by transnational feminist, sexuality, masculinity, and cultural theories and scholarship. It is particularly interested in work that employs historical, ethnographic, literary, textual, and visual analyses and methodologies. The journal also publishes book and film reviews, review essays, and dissertation abstracts that highlight theoretical innovation in gender and sexuality studies focused on the Middle East.
The main topics covered by this magazine are:
1) Presenting a comprehensive model of women’s character and position;
2) Opposing deviations as well as misinterpretations of the status and position of women;
3) Stating the rights and duties of women towards creating a healthy human community;
4) Introducing the Islamic legal system regarding the rights of women and families;
5) Clarifying the foundations of the family and comparing external realities with the constructive and moral teachings of Islam in this regard.
Middle East Women's Activism (SOAS Digital Collections)
"Middle East Women’s Activism" digital archive is a collection of interviews with 96 women of different generations in Egypt, Jordan and Lebanon, which form the basis of a monograph, entitled, Embodying Geopolitics: Generations of Women’s Activism in Egypt, Jordan and Lebanon. All interviews were conducted by Nicola Pratt, University of Warwick, in 2013-2014 as part of a British Academy Mid-Career Fellowship exploring the relationship between gender and geopolitics in the context of the Middle East.
Roshangar: Roshan Undergraduate Persian Studies Journal
The Roshangar Editorial Board is proud to announce the first issue of Roshangar: Roshan Undergraduate Persian Studies Journal. Click the above photo to download the first issue of the journal, free of charge. The journal features interdisciplenary student research in the numerous field including Persian studies, history, gender studies, and film studies. Please read and enjoy the articles, and continue following our publications in the future!
This Week in Palestine
This Week in Palestine is the only English-language magazine that is published in occupied Palestine. It is a monthly periodical with a distribution of 12,000 copies reaching all major cities and towns in Palestine. This Week in Palestine takes pride in its editorial section, where prominent Palestinian writers regularly contribute their articles. Being thematic in its approach, different topics are featured each month, such as Palestinian food, economy, health, women, youth, Bethlehem, Jerusalem, cultural centers, and cultural heritage...
Who Is She in Egypt
Who is She in Egypt" is a database of distinguished Egyptian women experts. It provides Arabic and English profiles on outstanding Egyptian Women in their particular field. The database aims at raising awareness among the society that there are expert and competent Egyptian Women in all fields of life. It is designed to be a reference to organizations, researchers, activists, media practitioners and all the users who want to find an Egyptian woman expert in a particular field.
Who Is She in Lebanon
The Who Is She in Lebanon is an online database with profiles of prominent contemporary Lebanese women. This project started in 2008 following a bilateral partnership between the Institute for Women’s Studies in the Arab World (IWSAW) at the Lebanese American University (LAU) and KVINFO, the Danish Centre for Information on Women and Gender, a grant-maintained self-governing institution under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Culture in Denmark.
Women's Worlds in Qajar Iran - دنیای زنان در عصر قاجار
Explore the lives of women during the Qajar era (1796-1925) through a wide array of materials from private family holdings and participating institutions. Women’s Worlds in Qajar Iran provides bilingual access to thousands of personal papers, manuscripts, photographs, publications, everyday objects, works of art and audio materials, making it a unique online resource for social and cultural histories of the Qajar world.
Women of Islamic Studies
Women of Islamic Studies is intended to contest the prevalence of all-male and male dominated academic domains, such as editorial boards, conference panels, publications, guest speakers, bibliographies, books reviews, etc. and provide resources to support the recognition, citation, and inclusion of women scholars in the field of Islamic Studies. Anyone who identifies as a woman, gender non-conforming, or non-binary is welcomed on the list. The scholars listed come from a wide variety of disciplines and perspectives. “Islamic Studies” is meant to be as inclusive as possible, meaning anyone whose expertise is related to the understanding of Muslims and the Islamic tradition, and intended to demarcate a disciplinary boundary. Please feel free to list any relevant scholars who work on Islam and Muslims in any capacity. The crowdsourced contents are made possible by many contributors. Please add to our list and help spread the word.