Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anthropology & Archaeology Resources
AFAQ ATHERYA (Archaeological Horizons)
Website is currently dead
صحيفة آفاق أثرية هي مشروع ثقافي ليبي يسعى إلى نشر الثقافة التاريخية والأثرية بين أفراد المجتمع، كما أنها تسعى إلى التعريف بالآثار الليبية على وجه الخصوص لنشر الوعي الأثري بين الناس حتى يسهموا في حماية الآثار بعد الإحساس بقيمتها، لاسيما أن الآثار تتعرض حالياً للإهمال والتدمير.
Africa: Revue des Études et Recherches préhistoriques, antiques, islamiques et ethnographiques
The National Heritage Institute (INP) is a public administrative institution with legal personality and financial autonomy. It is under the Ministry of Culture. It is a scientific and technical institution responsible for establishing the inventory of cultural heritage, archaeological, historical, civilizational and artistic, of his study, his backup and its development.
Arabian Humanities (formerly Chroniques Yéménites)
Arabian Humanities is the continuation of the earlier Chroniques yéménites journal, published by the French Center for Archaeology and Social Sciences in Sanaa (CEFAS) from 1993. It broadens its scope to the entire Arabian Peninsula, and is now resolutely oriented towards international research networks.
Archives Ouvertes de l'Institut français du Proche-Orient
The French Institute for the Near East (Ifpo) is today at the service of all the disciplines of humanities and social sciences, from Antiquity to our times, and at the understanding of the Near East in general and that of Syria, Lebanon, Jordan, the Palestinian territories and Iraq in particular.
Strong with its three scientific departments (Contemporary Studies, Medieval and Modern Arab Studies and Archaeology and Ancient History), today Ifpo develops on a large academic spectre, thanks to collaborations by which its researchers are appreciated by the societies that host them, as well as with the rest of the academic community, to collectively build its shared scientific knowledge.
Athar Project: Facebook's Black Market in Antiquities
Facebook’s “Groups” feature, which allows users to create and control a contained network of individuals with “shared interests,” has become a facilitator for the expansion of antiquities trafficking networks. The Groups provide a seamless environment for digital interactions and cross-border networking between users interested in buying and selling antiquities, allowing them to communicate efficiently and discretely. The ATHAR Project’s report covers nearly two-years of investigative research and incorporates a case study on Groups based in Syria.
The Antiquities Trafficking and Heritage Anthropology Research (ATHAR) Project is an investigative study led by a collection of anthropologists and heritage experts digging into the digital underworld of transnational trafficking, terrorism financing, and organized crime. Research for the ATHAR Project is conducted on a volunteer basis by experts and activists.
Bulletin: Critique Des Annales Islamologiques
Le Bulletin critique des Annales islamologiques, fondé en 1984, est un supplément annuel à la revue Annales islamologiques, publiée par l’Institut français d’archéologie orientale (Ifao) du Caire. Il vise à rendre compte de toute publication intéressant les études arabes et islamiques dans les divers domaines: langue et littérature arabes; islamologie, philosophie; histoire; histoire des sciences et des techniques; anthropologie et sciences sociales; arts et archéologie.
The Chronicles is the periodic publication of the Economic and Business History Research Center (EBHRC) of The American University in Cairo (AUC). It encourages an interdisciplinary understanding of the economic and business history of Egypt and the Middle East, encompassing social, anthropological and political dimensions. Our articles draw on, but are not limited to, the primary sources available at EBHRC, including oral narratives and private papers. The Chronicles creates a forum for the dissemination of knowledge. It is a space for research in the making, a venue for the work of young scholars, and a brainstorming platform among academics.
Crafts of Syria
Many of the monuments and archaeological sites have been looted, with some deliberately destroyed during the conflict. The crafts are another significant component of the rich cultural heritage of Syria, and this site is intended to preserve information on aspects of traditional manufacturing practices of urban and rural areas. It is hoped that this will be a resource for students and researchers working on the material cultures and socio-economic life of Syria and the surrounding regions of the Middle East.
Dar al-Kutub: Numismatic Collection of the Egyptian National Library
Our catalog of 6,500 numismatic pieces – coins, glass weights, dies, medals, etc. - is the third major catalog of Islamic numismatic material held in the Egyptian National Library, formerly the Khedivial Library, Egypt’s most important library. Our catalog differs from its predecessors in a number of ways. First, it is a new catalog in that we had to read the inscriptions from the digital images which were taken under difficult and rushed conditions and not from the actual objects for reasons which are explained in the section entitled Introduction. Second, we included in this electronic catalog inscriptions in Arabic as Dr. Sherif Anwar read them, which was never possible in the previous studies because of costs. Inscriptions in European languages and references are the work of Dr. Norman D. Nicol from the 1982 catalog of the collection.
Digital Archive of Brief notes & Iran Review (DABIR)
The Digital Archive of Brief notes & Iran Review (DABIR) is an open access, peer-reviewed online journal published by the Dr. Samuel M. Jordan Center for Persian Studies and Culture at the University of California, Irvine. DABIR aims to quickly and efficiently publish brief notes and reviews relating to the pre-modern world in contact with Iran and Persianate cultures. The journal accepts submissions on art history, archaeology, history, linguistics, literature, manuscript studies, numismatics, philology and religion, from Jaxartes to the Mediterranean and from the Sumerian period through to and including the Safavid era (3500 BCE-1500 CE). Work dealing with later periods can be considered on request.
DOHA - Doha Online Historical Atlas
The Origins of Doha is a UCL Qatar research project, supported by the Qatar National Research Fund and aims to explore the foundation and historic growth of Doha, its transformation to a modern city, and the lives and experiences of its people, through a combination of archaeological investigation, historical research and oral testimony.
This interactive web resource presents some of the project's research, tracing of the changing physical extent and urban configuration of Al Bidda and Doha through time, using historic maps, photographs, historic building recording and the excavation of archaeological deposits.
Eurasian Journal of Anthropology
Eurasian Journal of Anthropology (EJA) analyzes and presents research relating to the social, biological, bio-cultural, and archaeological anthropology of Eurasia and contiguous regions. The journal is published bi-annualy. This international peer-reviewed e-journal will publish papers and develops discussions on a wide range of research topics of both living human populations and past societies
Fyke Collection of Afghan War Rugs
The peoples of Afghanistan have a rich and distinguished textile history. The Baluch and the Turkman, the Tajik and the Hazara, are among the tribal groups that produce embroideries, felts and knotted pile woven textiles that reflect their identities, beliefs, and ways of life. The Baluch, for example, were nomadic herders whose belongings needed to be portable. They are known in the West as the producers of deeply coloured pile carpets of unprecedented lushness. Made entirely by hand, pile carpets were prized possessions that served as bedding or seating and could be easily rolled up for transport.
Gertrude Bell Archive
The Gertrude Bell Collection comprises books on Arabic and Persian languages and on the histories of Arabia, and the Near and Middle East which were formerly part of Gertrude's working library. These can be found in the Library's online catalogue.
Heritage for Peace
We are an international group of heritage workers who believe that cultural heritage is a common ground for dialogue and a tool to build peace. Founded in February 2013, Heritage for Peace’s mission is to support heritage workers as they work to protect their collections, monuments and archaeological sites during armed conflict. We are an NGO based in Girona, Spain.
Insaniyat / إنسانيات
Insaniyat est une revue algérienne d’anthropologie et de sciences sociales valorisant l’activité de recherche sur le terrain. Largement ouverte aux différentes disciplines ayant pour objet l’homme et la société, elle s'inscrit dans le vaste projet anthropologique. Insaniyat rend compte des travaux menés sur tout le territoire national algérien par les chercheurs travaillant dans le cadre de projets initiés par les institutions de recherche. Elle tâche aussi de se constituer en un carrefour accueillant pour d’autres scientifiques en Algérie ou à l’étranger.
Iranian Journal of Society, Culture & Language
Iranian Journal of Society, Culture & Language (IJSCL) is a fully peer-reviewed international journal that publishes original research and review articles on the relationship between society, culture, and language. IJSCL favors articles which have a sound theoretical base with visible practical applications that can be used by specialists in anthropology, sociology, linguistics, education, intercultural studies, and policy making. Authors from all languages and cultures are invited to submit their research and review articles to the IJSCL journal.
Islam and Muslim Societies
Islam and Muslim Societies is an academic refereed journal published under the authority of Center for Social Action and Development (CSAD). It is an online bi-annual publication (Coming in January and June), International in character though South Asia is its special area of interest and coverage. The Journal does not promote any particular point of view or ideology.
Islam and Muslim Societies is primarily a forum for scholars across the disciplines of Sociology/Social Anthropology, Economics, History, Political Science, Law, Philosophy, and other related streams and provides open space for research and dialogue on Islam (except theological debates/issues) and Muslim societies across the globe.
The Journal invites contributions in the form of original articles- theoretical, empirical and policy analysis-short notes, review articles, book reviews, news relating to research and academic/professional fora and communications.
Israel Antiquities Authority Scientific Archive 1919-1948
The archive of the Israel Antiquities Authority (IAA) is located in Jerusalem. It essentially continues the archive from the British Mandate era. Following the conquest of Palestine by British forces, headed by General Allenby in 1918, the documentation and data collecting of ancient and archaeological sites had begun. Once a civil government was established by the British Mandatory Authorities in 1920, the Department of Antiquities was created and the archive had become an integral part of it.
Jordan Journal for History and Archaeology (JJHA) - المجلة الأردنية للتاريخ والآثار
Jordan Journal for History and Archaeology (JJHA) is an International Quarterly, Refereed Research Journal. It is concerned with publishing refereed scientific papers by local and international authors. Issued quarterly, the journal sets itself to publishing original topics whose scientific and practical value is concerned with history and archaeology. Manuscripts are published mainly in Arabic or English. However, other languages approved by the Editorial Board may be considered as well. Submitted papers are evaluated anonymously by specialists in their field.
A Journal of Three Months’ Walk in Persia in 1884 by Captain John Compton Pyne : Introduction, Notes and Translation
A primary source on a journey to Persia by Captain John Compton Pyne in 1884 revealing the West’s fascination with the Middle East in Victorian times. The book includes an introduction by the editors and a transcription of the manuscript with notes and the original illustrations, mainly watercolours. An important historical document and eye-witness account pertaining to Iran, anthropology, area studies, study of ‘orientalism’ and colonialism, and for historians.
Les Monuments Ayyoubides de Damas in AMAR
One of a series of AWOL pages seeking to pull together publication series digitized and served through AMAR: Archive of Mesopotamian Archaeological Site Reports
Manar Al-Athar منار الآثار
The Manar al-Athar website, based at the University of Oxford, aims to provide high resolution, searchable images for teaching, research, and publication. These images of archaeological sites, with buildings and art, will cover the areas of the former Roman empire which later came under Islamic rule, such as Syro-Palestine/the Levant, Arabia, Egypt, North Africa and Spain. The chronological range is from Alexander the Great (i.e., from about 300 BC) through, the Islamic period to the present. It is the first website of its kind providing such material labelled jointly in both Arabic and English. We will also be publishing related material, both online and on paper, in English and Arabic.
Maps of the Ottoman Empire
The W. F. Albright Institute of Archaeological Research (AIAR) in Jerusalem in cooperation with the Center for Ancient Middle Eastern Landscapes (CAMEL) at the University of Chicago scanned and geo-referenced a series of topographical maps of Eastern Turkey and the lands of the broader Ottoman Empire with a grant from the US Department of Education TICFIA program. The bulk of the collection contains topographical maps compiled at the British Intelligence Division War Office in 1915 derived from map and survey data collected during multiple expeditions 1839-1906. The collection contains high resolution copies of the original maps held by AIAR, and geo-referenced versions can be requested by contacting email@example.com.
Monuments of Syria
This website is a visual introduction to the writer’s two books on the history and archaeology of Syria. Few countries can match Syria in the richness of its historical remains. In the zone west of Aleppo, for example, over 600 Byzantine-era villages survive, often with multiple churches with walls up to their rooflines. There is practically no era not represented in Syria. Palmyra, the great caravan city at the westernmost point of the Silk Road, still slumbers in the desert, its beautifully carved limestone as crisp and dramatic as 2000 years ago. Magnificent reminders of the folly of past confrontations, including the Crusades, survive in the great fortifications that are scattered across the country — the Krak des Chevaliers; the great Islamic citadel that crowns Aleppo; the refuges of the ‘Assassins’ hidden away in the coastal mountains; or the Damascus Citadel that sustained the long Muslim resistance to the Crusades. Not to be overlooked are the many mosques and madrasas, often tucked away quietly in backstreets or buried within the busy suqs (markets) of the major centres.
Monuments of Syria Photostream
This Flickr site brings together a large number of photographs of archaeological sites in both Syria and Southeast Turkey. The site gives a sample of the archive of 70,000 photos taken over the last 40 years which [the author] hopes to make available to a wider audience. In case of further inquiries, a mailbox is available either through Flickr.
Ocean of Paper Database
An Ocean of Paper seeks to stimulate new research in the social history of the Sultanate by collecting, cataloging, and publishing the thousands of deeds (called waraqas) produced by Omanis in South Arabia and East Africa during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. These deeds, which exist in private and public collections in Oman and East Africa, recount transactions in money, property, and commodities between Omanis from different parts of the country who engaged in activities around the Indian Ocean. Individually, they tell stories of the lives, fortunes, and trajectories of Omani migrants; together, they constitute some of the richest written records we have on any community in the region, and promise to completely reshape the foundations of Omani social and economic history in the Indian Ocean.
Ocean of Paper is a part of Indian Ocean in World History educational resources project of Sultan Qaboos Cultural Center.
The first issue of Orientalia Suecana appeared in 1952. Its founder was Erik Gren (1904–1959), Reader in Classical History and Archaeology at Uppsala University and librarian at the University Library. The journal succeed to the journal Le Monde Oriental, published in Uppsala in years 1906–1946. Most of the contributions in the early volumes were primarily philological, with a wider view towards historical, and especially religious-historical issues. More recently, besides the articles dealing with antiquity, Orientalia Suecana has published numerous studies on present-day topics and phenomena. While maintaining its philological focus on texts, the journal is open to linguistic and literary researches in the fields of Semitic, Iranian, Turkic, Indic, and Chinese studies.
Oriental Rug Review
A Bimonthly Journal of Oriental Rugs and Other Textiles
The Palestinian Institution for Cultural Landscape Studies
Neither this website nor the organization seem to exist anymore.
The Palestinian institution for cultural landscape studies (Al-Mashhad) was established in 2001, as a Palestinian non governmental and non profit institution. The areas of our fieldwork and study include: landscape, environment, archaeology, conservation and other related fields.
Portal 9 = al-Bawwābah al-tasiʻah.
As a journal of stories and critical writing about urbanism and the city,
Portal 9 blends creative writing, photography, and personal essays with academic scholarship, perceptive journalism, and cultural critiques. Published by Solidere Management Services, the Lebanese Company for the Development and Reconstruction of the Beirut Central District, Portal 9 is issued in Beirut and published twice yearly in English and Arabic editions. Each issue focuses on a unique theme. The journal addresses the need for a conscientious debate about architecture, planning, culture, and society in urban contexts across the Middle East and the rest of the world.
STUDIA ISLAMIKA (ISSN 0215-0492; E-ISSN: 2355-6145) is an international journal published by the Center for the Study of Islam and Society (PPIM) Syarif Hidayatullah State Islamic University of Jakarta, INDONESIA. It specializes in Indonesian Islamic studies in particular, and Southeast Asian Islamic studies in general, and is intended to communicate original researches and current issues on the subject. This journal warmly welcomes contributions from scholars of related disciplines.