Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
1947 Partition Archive
We are concerned global citizens committed to preserving this chapter of our collective history. We come from diverse cultural and religious backgrounds, nationalities, and professions. It is our view that a strong foundation in history will pave the way for a more enlightened future for the subcontinent and hence the world. At the moment our team consists of 100% volunteer based staff, interns, advisers and experts who are passionate about preserving the people's history of Partition.
Accessing Muslim Lives
Explore the lives of men and women in the Muslim world – from the sixteenth century to now – through their autobiographical writings. Writings are by Muslims and non-Muslims living in various social, cultural and political contexts. The authors range from scholars, saints and socio-religious reformers to princes, bureaucrats, nationalists, educators, writers and actors. Browse by category, region, time or name. Also access an extensive bibliography of published autobiographical writings from the Muslim world in English or English translation.
Jurji Zaidan founded the monthly magazine Al-Hilal in 1892. It has been continuously published since then and celebrations to commemorate its 120th anniversary were held in Egypt in 2012. In the context of the Memory of Modern Egypt Series documenting the political, social and cultural history of Egypt in the last two hundred years, the Library of Alexandria completed the five year Dar Al-Hilal Documentation project in January 2012, on the occasion of 150th anniversary of the birth of Jurji Zaidan. This project included the digitization of the whole collection of Al-Hilal Magazine from the first year of publication in 1892 to the present day.
Arabic and its Alternatives: Religious Minorities and their Languages in the Emerging Nation States of the Middle East (1920-1950)
Arabic and its Alternatives discusses the complicated relationships between language, religion and communal identities in the Middle East in the period following the First World War. This volume takes its starting point in the non-Arabic and non-Muslim communities, tracing their linguistic and literary practices as part of a number of interlinked processes, including that of religious modernization, of new types of communal identity politics and of socio-political engagement with the emerging nation states and their accompanying nationalisms. These twentieth-century developments are firmly rooted in literary and linguistic practices of the Ottoman period, but take new turns under influence of colonization and decolonization, showing the versatility and resilience as much as the vulnerability of these linguistic and religious minorities in the region.
Arhchnet is an open-access library on the built environment of Muslim societies
The Chronicles is the periodic publication of the Economic and Business History Research Center (EBHRC) of The American University in Cairo (AUC). It encourages an interdisciplinary understanding of the economic and business history of Egypt and the Middle East, encompassing social, anthropological and political dimensions. Our articles draw on, but are not limited to, the primary sources available at EBHRC, including oral narratives and private papers. The Chronicles creates a forum for the dissemination of knowledge. It is a space for research in the making, a venue for the work of young scholars, and a brainstorming platform among academics.
Cultural Heritage without Borders
Cultural Heritage without Borders, CHwB, is Swedish Non-governmental organization working to preserve cultural monuments endangered in various ways.
The Organization was founded in April, 1995, in the spirit of the Hague Convention from 1954 to lend international support to cultural heritage at risk of being destroyed whether as a result of natural disasters, war or neglect because of poverty or political and social conditions
Digital Palestinian Archive
The Birzeit University Digital Palestinian Archive (BZUDPA) is dedicated to documenting the life of Palestinians and their institutions over the past century, from Ottoman times to the present.The project, launched in 2011, aims to preserve a large variety of documents, written and audio-visual, relating to the history of the Palestinian people over the past century, and donated by individuals, families and popular organizations. Birzeit, as a national university, is fully committed to placing its technical and academic resources at the service of this project, which continually digitizes, places online and makes available a wide variety of documents.
Eurasian Journal of Anthropology
Eurasian Journal of Anthropology (EJA) analyzes and presents research relating to the social, biological, bio-cultural, and archaeological anthropology of Eurasia and contiguous regions. The journal is published bi-annualy. This international peer-reviewed e-journal will publish papers and develops discussions on a wide range of research topics of both living human populations and past societies
The Graphics of Revolution and War - Iranian Poster Arts
Posters have long acted as effective tools to disseminate various ideological messages during periods of revolution and war. Designed for mass distribution and aimed towards a large public audience, they embed social, political, and religious concerns that frequently are articulated through both text and image. The Graphics of Revolution and War exhibit explores how posters served as powerful modalities for mobilization and communication during the Iranian Revolution of 1979 and the Iran-Iraq War (1980-88). This permanent online exhibit was collaboratively produced in conjunction with a loan exhibition of the University of Chicago’s posters on display at the Indiana University Art Museum from October 15 to December 18, 2011.
International Journal of Islamic Thought
The INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF ISLAMIC THOUGHT (IJIT) is an internationally refereed online journal jointly published by the International Society of Muslim Philosophers and Theologians (ISOMPT) and the Department of Theology and Philosophy, National University of Malaysia. The mission of IJIT is to encourage scholarly research in Islamic thought. The Journal provides a unique peer-reviewed forum to postgraduate students, scholars, professors, and researchers in various topics within Islamic thought. The Journal welcomes research papers as well as review articles and conference reports. IJIT will be published in June and December annually. IJIT will publish empirical and theoretical papers (e.g. a critical review of research). The Journal has an international advisory board. The international perspective is also reflected by the journal's trilingual approach: IJIT welcomes papers in English, Arabic and Malay.
Iran Chamber Society
In the absence of a well-documented, comprehensive and permanent source of information on Iran, or formerly and widely known as Persia, that can accommodate many viewers' needs and wishes we decided to create a source, which could provide information on all aspects of Iranian/Persian history, art and culture. Therefore, in compliance with the needs of those who are concerned with Iran/Persia and its issues, in April 2001 "Iran Chamber Society" was founded as a non-partisan and non-profit organization with the aim to promote Iranian culture and history. By actively publicizing historical and cultural findings and issues in a format that is accessible for the world community at large, Iran Chamber Society aims to create a global awareness about Iranian society and eradicate the misunderstandings and misconceptions about Iranian society, and to play an educational role as well.
Iranian Journal of Society, Culture & Language
Iranian Journal of Society, Culture & Language (IJSCL) is a fully peer-reviewed international journal that publishes original research and review articles on the relationship between society, culture, and language. IJSCL favors articles which have a sound theoretical base with visible practical applications that can be used by specialists in anthropology, sociology, linguistics, education, intercultural studies, and policy making. Authors from all languages and cultures are invited to submit their research and review articles to the IJSCL journal.
Islam and Muslim Societies
Islam and Muslim Societies is an academic refereed journal published under the authority of Center for Social Action and Development (CSAD). It is an online bi-annual publication (Coming in January and June), International in character though South Asia is its special area of interest and coverage. The Journal does not promote any particular point of view or ideology.
Islam and Muslim Societies is primarily a forum for scholars across the disciplines of Sociology/Social Anthropology, Economics, History, Political Science, Law, Philosophy, and other related streams and provides open space for research and dialogue on Islam (except theological debates/issues) and Muslim societies across the globe.
The Journal invites contributions in the form of original articles- theoretical, empirical and policy analysis-short notes, review articles, book reviews, news relating to research and academic/professional fora and communications.
Israeli Left Archive
The Israeli Left Archive is devoted mainly to the radical left and the women's peace movement in Israel during the sixties, seventies and the eighties. It is in this period, immediately preceding the introduction of computer technologies, that the bulk of the Kaminer collection was gathered. They stopped collecting material towards the end of the eighties mainly due to the spread of computerized documentation throughout society and the left. From the early nineties, the preservation and the recovery of movement materials became a vastly simpler goal.
JMEWS: Journal of Middle East Women's Studies
This interdisciplinary journal advances the fields of Middle East gender, sexuality, and women's studies through the contributions of academics, artists, and activists from around the globe working in the interpretive social sciences and humanities. JMEWS publishes area-specific research informed by transnational feminist, sexuality, masculinity, and cultural theories and scholarship. It is particularly interested in work that employs historical, ethnographic, literary, textual, and visual analyses and methodologies. The journal also publishes book and film reviews, review essays, and dissertation abstracts that highlight theoretical innovation in gender and sexuality studies focused on the Middle East.
Journal of the Iran Society
Founded in 1935, The Iran Society acts as a gathering point for those who are interested in Iran's heritage and culture. It is strictly non-political. Its object is to promote learning and advance education in the subject of Iran, its peoples and culture and particularly to advance education through the study of language, literature, art, history, religions, antiquities, usages, institutions and customs of Iran. The Society's principal activities comprise seven lectures a year on a wide range of subjects, publication of occasional monographs, an annual study day (e.g. on Persian carpets or manuscripts), publication of the Society's journal and an annual reception for members and guests.
Ocean of Paper Database
An Ocean of Paper seeks to stimulate new research in the social history of the Sultanate by collecting, cataloging, and publishing the thousands of deeds (called waraqas) produced by Omanis in South Arabia and East Africa during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. These deeds, which exist in private and public collections in Oman and East Africa, recount transactions in money, property, and commodities between Omanis from different parts of the country who engaged in activities around the Indian Ocean. Individually, they tell stories of the lives, fortunes, and trajectories of Omani migrants; together, they constitute some of the richest written records we have on any community in the region, and promise to completely reshape the foundations of Omani social and economic history in the Indian Ocean.
Ocean of Paper is a part of Indian Ocean in World History educational resources project of Sultan Qaboos Cultural Center.
Portal 9 = al-Bawwābah al-tasiʻah.
As a journal of stories and critical writing about urbanism and the city,
Portal 9 blends creative writing, photography, and personal essays with academic scholarship, perceptive journalism, and cultural critiques. Published by Solidere Management Services, the Lebanese Company for the Development and Reconstruction of the Beirut Central District, Portal 9 is issued in Beirut and published twice yearly in English and Arabic editions. Each issue focuses on a unique theme. The journal addresses the need for a conscientious debate about architecture, planning, culture, and society in urban contexts across the Middle East and the rest of the world.
Sharing Ancient Wisdoms
The focus of the SAWS project is on collections of ideas and opinions – ranging from pithy sayings to short passages from longer philosophical texts - which make up the ancient genre of Wisdom Literature. Such collections are found in all the cultures of the Middle East and Europe; but they have tended to be treated by scholars as nothing more than quarries for the earlier materials which they excerpted. They are also not easy to publish in book form, since each collection is a composition with its own identity. But they are key components in understanding the societies where they circulated, and the formation and transmission of ideas, both within those societies and between them, since many have been chosen for translation. Thus the collection of sayings published by Caxton, which circulated in several western European languages, was based on the Spanish translation of an Arabic collection, itself drawing on ancient Greek traditions...
STUDIA ISLAMIKA (ISSN 0215-0492; E-ISSN: 2355-6145) is an international journal published by the Center for the Study of Islam and Society (PPIM) Syarif Hidayatullah State Islamic University of Jakarta, INDONESIA. It specializes in Indonesian Islamic studies in particular, and Southeast Asian Islamic studies in general, and is intended to communicate original researches and current issues on the subject. This journal warmly welcomes contributions from scholars of related disciplines.
U.S. Library of Congress - Country Studies
Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world. Most books in the series deal with a single foreign country, but a few cover several countries or a geographic region. The series includes several books on countries that no longer exist in their original configuration—such as Czechoslovakia, East Germany, the Soviet Union, Sudan, and Yugoslavia. These books remain in the series because they continue to offer valuable historical information and perspective. In some cases, studies on successor states are also part of the series.
Each book was written by a multidisciplinary team of social scientists, who sought to adhere to accepted standards of scholarly objectivity. The books represent the analysis of the authors and should not be construed as an expression of an official U.S. government position, policy, or decision.
Women's Worlds in Qajar Iran - دنیای زنان در عصر قاجار
Explore the lives of women during the Qajar era (1796-1925) through a wide array of materials from private family holdings and participating institutions. Women’s Worlds in Qajar Iran provides bilingual access to thousands of personal papers, manuscripts, photographs, publications, everyday objects, works of art and audio materials, making it a unique online resource for social and cultural histories of the Qajar world.
The World's Muslims: Unity and Diversity
This report was produced by the Pew Research Center’s Forum on Religion & Public Life.The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, content analysis and other empirical social science research. It does not take positions on policy issues. The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life is a project of the Pew Research Center; it delivers timely, impartial information on the issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs in the U.S. and around the world. The Pew Research Center is an independently operated subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts
التسامح = al-Tasamoh = al-Tasāmuḥ
The journal al-Tasamoh welcomes all scholarly research and studies that address and analyze contemporary Islamic issues, focusing on the Quran, Prophetic tradition, or Islamic law. The journal publishes scholarly research of the highest standards centered on dialogue and discussion of current issues, and welcomes studies that concentrate on the current situation of Arab and Muslim societies. Our aim is to publish papers which examine issues imbedded in Muslim discourse and thought with emphasis upon the broad scope of relations among different disciplines and areas of study, including Orientalism, studies of the West, acculturation, the dialogue of civilizations, and religious tolerance. Such studies are published alongside critical examinations of classical and modern literary texts that highlight the intellectual and ideological transformations of contemporary Arab and Muslim societies.