Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Image Collections
Four African American women, Atlanta University, Georgia (Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog)
Africana & Black History | NYPL Digital Gallery | New York Public Library
Historical documents and photographs relating to African American history from the 16th century to the present. Items were selected in the course of developing the NYPL website "African American Migration Experience."
Digital Schomburg | New York Public Library
Digital Schomburg offers online exhibitions, images, full-length books and articles, manuscripts, maps and essays by renowned scholars.
Beinecke Digital Collections | Yale University Library
The Advanced Search option permits searching by genre, e.g. cabinet photographs.
Documenting the American South: Image Subject List of North American Slave Narratives
Browse a subject listing of digital images included in the North American Slave Narratives. The collection is also searchable.
Documenting the American South: Image Subject List of The Church in the Southern Black Community
Browse by subject digital images from The Church in the Southern Black Community project. A search option is also available.
House Divided: The Civil War Research Engine at Dickinson College
The House Divided Project at Dickinson College aims to create resources for teachers and students that will help bring alive and explain the turbulent Civil War era in American history. Choose subcategory "People" under "Collections" and search by Race.
North Carolina Digital Collections
The North Carolina Digital Collections contain historic and recent photographs, state government publications, manuscripts and other resources on topics related to North Carolina. The Collections are free and full-text searchable, and bring together content from the State Archives of North Carolina and the State Library of North Carolina.
Prints & Photographs Online Catalog | Library of Congress
An extensive collection of digital images of Library of Congress collections including photos taken by Gordon Parks, the Carl Van Vechten Collection including Harlem Renaissance celebrities, images from the personal papers of Frederick Douglass and Booker T. Washington, and more.
SIRIS Image Gallery | Smithsonian Institution
Includes images from the Washington, DC studio of African American photographer Addison N. Scurlock.
A database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.