Collection of works by authors of African or African-American descent over three centuries, compiled by the curators of the Afro-Americana Imprints collection at the Library Company of Philadelphia.
This collection contains digital page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Find critical analyses of novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, as well as biographies, bibliographies, and full text of some poems, stories, essays, plays, and speeches.
This database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Find the full text of 125,000 poems, 5000+ short stories, 2000+ essays, 1000+ plays, and nearly 2000 speeches. Citations or excerpts are available for 850,000 poems.
Index to scholarly materials published worldwide in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. NOTE: EBSCO prohibits the use of non-EBSCO AI tools with their content.
Use the following links to find journals listed under each subject.
These examples of online journals and magazines (and many others) may not be indexed in major article databases:
Many of the books, journal articles and other resources you find can be accessed through Oxy. However, if not, you will need to request them through Interlibrary Loan. If you are logged into your Oxy account, most interlibrary loans can be made via a link associated with the article/book.
