Research Guides: Music: Finding Articles

Databases Strong in Music

Music Databases from EBSCO
Includes RILM, RIPM, and Music Index.

EBSCO's (2024) License Agreement states, "Licensee and Authorized Users may not use artificial intelligence tools or machine learning technologies with any of the content included in the Databases or Services for any purpose."
Music Index
Broad range of indexed subjects covering musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries. NOTE: EBSCO prohibits the use of non-EBSCO AI tools with their content.

EBSCO's (2024) License Agreement states, "Licensee and Authorized Users may not use artificial intelligence tools or machine learning technologies with any of the content included in the Databases or Services for any purpose."
Naxos Music Library
Naxos is a leading classical music label. The database offers access to over 75,000 tracks of classical, jazz, folk, and world music online.
Oxford Music Online
Cross-search several music encyclopedias and dictionaries including The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers, The Grove Dictionary of American Music, and The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Index to scholarly international sources on music and related subjects; includes articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, and more.
RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals is an international, highly annotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950.

Open Access Music Journals

These open access journals (and other online publications) may not be indexed in major article databases:

Anuario Musical

Electronic Musicological Reivew

Journal of Interdisciplinary Music Studies

Journal of the Society for Musicology in Ireland

Music Performance Research

Journal of Music and Meaning

Music Theory Online

Accessing Material We Don't Own

Many of the books, journal articles and other resources you find can be accessed through Oxy. However, if not, you will need to request them through Interlibrary Loan. If you are logged into your Oxy account, most interlibrary loans can be made via a link associated with the article/book.