Skip to Main Content 
Public Domain & Creative Commons Video Content
- Prelinger Archive - An Internet Archive collection of approx. 60,000 ephemeral (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films in the public domain.
- Vimeo Creative Commons - Browse videos with a Creative Commons license, with a clear explanation of the different licenses and how you can or cannot use the videos.
- Critical Past - "stock footage and millions of stock photo images comprising one of the largest royalty-free archive footage collections in the world. All broadcast quality and available for immediate download in multiple HD frame rates and codecs, including full resolution screeners. Video clips are licensed royalty-free, worldwide, in perpetuity, for all media...specialties include World War I, World War II, Korean War, Vietnam War, The Cold War, Worldwide Political Figures, Industrialization, Culture, Civil Rights, Transportation, Aviation and Space."
- Videvo - Royalty-free stock video footage, music, and sound effects, either CC licensed (BY-3.0) or licensed by the company for easy use in non-commercial and commercial projects. Ad-supported, registration required, no fees.
- rarefilmm.com - The Cave Of Forgotten Films - Almost 3,000 downloadable, free-to-use full-length and short films in the public domain. The films date from the 1910s-2000s and can be browsed by genre, country of origin, and decade.
- Oxy Special Collections Moving Images Collection - Preview digitized films and videos of Oxy events, sports, and student life dating from the 1930s through the 1990s. Contact specialcollections@oxy.edu for clean, non-watermarked copies and information on using these films in your project.
