Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need to get more familiar with a person or current issues in education? Encyclopedia and reference databases provide background information, basic statistics, images and even videos.
Biography in Context
Find the full-text of biographies, biographical entries, and articles from Gale Group sources, The Complete Marquis Who's Who, periodicals, and the world wide web.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Offers over 200 encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
Find articles on education from a variety of disciplines including psychology, law and sciences.
Full-text archive of high-impact academic journals in many disciplines. The archive does NOT include recent issues -- included journals generally begin with the first issue and stop 3 to 5 years ago. You can browse journals by discipline or by title, and you can search articles by keyword. Oxy subscribes to eight JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I through VII and the Ecology and Botany collection.
Full-text of hundreds of journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from scholarly publishers, mostly university presses. Oxy subscribes to the Standard Collection.
Narrow your research by using a subject or discipline specific database.
ERIC Educational Resources Information Center
Find citations and abstracts for journal articles and other documents broadly related to education. From ProQuest.
Find abstracts and citations for articles, book chapters and other sources in psychology, psychiatry, and related disciplines. From ProQuest.
Additional Databases & Guides
Want to find additional databases for your specific topic? We have nearly 300 databases searchable by name or subject.
Research Guides by Subject:
Additional guides covering 42 different subjects to help you with your research project. Each guide contains recommended texts, articles and databases.