Research Guides: Open Access and Open Educational Resources: OER: Where to find

Find Open Textbooks

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS). Use the above integrated search tool developed by SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library to search over 450,000 records of OER.

Other Sources for Open Textbooks

The following resources can be used to locate high quality, peer-reviewed open textbooks in a variety of subject areas. Most of these resources also provide evaluative information about the textbooks they contain, such as faculty reviews, accessibility reviews, and usage statistics.

BCcampus OpenEd Library
The British Columbia Campus Consortium's OER repository, BCCampus OpenEd collects textbooks from a variety of resources, including the books housed in OpenStax and others.
Lever Press
Lever Press titles are made available under Creative Commons (CC) licenses to maximize opportunities for reuse.
LibreTexts
Created by UC Davis with the support of Dept of Education grants, LibreTexts contains open textbooks and other OER in the sciences, social sciences, humanities.
Milne Open Textbooks
A catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
OpenStax
OpenStax is one of the most popular OER repositories in use today, and provides textbooks for college as well as high school AP courses. Many texts include ancillary resources for faculty.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library provides an easy-to-use interface for locating and evaluating OER. Along with peer-reviewed textbooks, the OTL provides reviews from faculty who have adopted their texts for courses.
Pressbooks Directory
A directory of all the books (textbooks, handbooks, and other text-based media) published on Pressbooks, a popular OER-authoring tool.

Find Open Educational Resources

Other open educational resources (syllabi, course handouts, lesson plans, etc) can be found in the following OER repositories. Some, like OER Commons, contain open textbooks as well as other course materials. Others, like MIT OpenCourseWare, host live course content.

eCampus Ontario H5P Catalog
A catalog of interactive open content created and cataloged by faculty at Ontario-based postsecondary institutions. H5P content can be embedded into Moodle as self-study materials for students and other fun activities.
eCampus Ontario Open Library
A collection of curated OER. Open textbook records contain: download options, information about the book, links to ancillary materials, links to other editions/versions of the resource, and faculty reviews.
Galileo Open Learning Materials
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.
MIT OpenCourseWare
A web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content, OpenCourseWare is open, available globally, and a permanent MIT activity.
OER Commons
The Open Educational Resources (OER) Commons currently includes open educational materials in broad subject areas. Materials include lesson plans, textbooks, activities, assessments, readings, and more.
PhET Interactive Simulations
Includes “interactive simulations for science and math.” Can be useful for mathematics, physics, engineering, and other subjects.
Saylor Academy
Saylor provides freely available online courses on a variety of subjects. Course content can be reused in Moodle.

What do other instructors use?

The following is a brief list of the OER other academic instructors are using.

Cool4Ed: OER used at California Universities
Click on the "Faculty Showcase" icon to see resources used in other disciplines
ISU OER Trailblazers
Iowa OER: Resources adopted in Iowa Universities
Open Oregon: Resources adopted in Oregon Universities

Finding OER Worksheet

OER Treasure Hunt Worksheet
Use this worksheet to help you organize the resources you find and determine which might be best for your course.