This is the "Online Databases" page of the "Visual Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Occidental College Home Library Home Occidental College Home

Visual Resources   Tags: images, research, visual_arts  

Last Updated: Apr 6, 2012 URL: http://libguides.oxy.edu/visualresources Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Online Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Featured Websites

Science

  • U.S. National Library of Medicine
    "The Exhibition Program promotes public education about science, medicine, and history through its creation of interactive exhibitions, multimedia displays, traveling exhibitions, web sites, symposia, films, lectures, and publications."
  • NASA Images
    "NASA Images was created through a partnership between NASA and the Internet Archive...to bring public access to NASA's image, video, and audio collections in a single, searchable resource."
  • Hardin Library MD Medical Image Collection
    This medical picture gallery is part of the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences.
  • Hardin Library John Martin Rare Book Room Images
    "These unique sets of several hundred images...include illustrations relating to anatomy, physiology, surgery, obstetrics, and therapeutics."
  • Springer Images
    "Springer Images spans science, technology and medicine in 18 subject collections with over 1.5 million photos, graphs, histograms, tables and more."
  • Wellcome Collection
    "Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science."
  • Animal Sound & Video Catalog
    Cornell Lab of Ornithology, Macaulay Library

Art and Architecture

  • ARTstor
    "ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes."
  • LUNA Commons
    "This is a free public resource for discovering quality primary source materials with authoritative descriptive data."
  • Catalog of Art Museum Images Online (CAMIO)
    "CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms."
  • Access Ceramics
    "It is designed for use by artists, arts educators, scholars and the general public, and is intended to fill a void in contemporary ceramics digital image collections on the web."
  • California State University World Art Image Database
    "The WorldImages database...contains almost 75,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery."
  • Art Images for College Teaching
    "AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large."
  • Web Gallery of Art
    "The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism and Realism periods (1100-1850), currently containing over 22,600 reproductions."
  • Digital Imaging Project
    "Art historical images of sculpture and architecture from pre-historic to post modern." These are taken and posted by Mary Sullivan at Bluffton College.
  • Artist Books at Reed
    The spectrum of modern and contemporary Artists' Books in Reed College's Special Collections and collected on this website include traditional letterpress printed books of poetry, conceptual book works, sculptural and visual works, concrete poetry, and magazine works.
  • Artist Books at Otis
    The Otis Library's current collection is approximately 2,000 works.
  • Digital Scriptorium
    The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.
  • Bridgeman Art
    "Images from over 8,000 collections and more than 29,000 artists, we represent international museums, galleries and artists..."
  • Ara Pacis Augustae
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip