Skip to main content
Theater and Dance
Theater and Dance
Primary Materials and Archives
Global Performing Arts Database
Oxford Reference Online - Performing Arts
Music, Theater, Dance
Performing Arts Encyclopedia (Library of Congress)
Search and browse descriptions of more than 235 music, theater and dance resources by subject, title, or name.
Oxford Art Online
Comprehensive encyclopedia of art. Includes many images. Cross-search several art encyclopedias and dictionaries including Grove Art Online, The Oxford, Companion to Western Art and Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
ARTstor Digital Library
Images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Use built in tools to organize, share and present images.
Note: Off-campus access to ARTstor requires a personal login which must be set up while on campus.
North American Theatre Online
Twentieth Century North American Drama
Suggest a Library Purchase
The Research and Reference guide provides basic information for getting started and understanding research in the college environment:
Jacob Alden Sargent
Last Updated Sep 13, 2017
459 views this year
Beginning your Research on a Theater or Dance Topic
Topic Finding and Thesis Formation
Follow your interest.
Look for tensions, anomalies and unanswered questions.
What assumptions have been made in previous scholarship surrounding a topic?
What critical approaches have and haven't been taken with certain topics?
Narrow or broaden an area of interest, and look for ways you can situate an argument within a larger argument, or in opposition to another argument.
Look outside of theater or dance at other influences and factors that are related to your topic.
(Scholar, Web, Images, Books)
They Say - I Say
Cathy Birkenstein; Gerald Graff
Craft of Research [electronic text]
Wayne C. Booth; Gregory G. Colomb; Joseph M. Williams
CAE Center for Academic Excellence at Oxy
Short Guides to Writing (book series)
OWL Online Writing Lab
The Writing Process
Nov 13, 2017 8:07 AM
Login to LibApps
Art & Art History
Media Arts & Culture