Online Reference Sources
- American Music ResourceReference, Bibliography
- American Musicological SocietyProfessional Organization, Publications, Events, Resources
- BillboardMusic News, Billboard Charts
- Classical Net: The Internet's Premier Classical Music SourceClassical Music, Reference, Composer Index, Reviews
- Guide to Medieval and Renaissance InstrumentsImages, Design, History, Instruments
- International Alliance for Women in MusicPublications, International Organization, Events, News
- Music Copyright Infringement Resource (UCLA and Columbia Law Schools)Cases, News, New Music Technologies, Glossary
- Music Theory and History Resource (Dolmetsch Online)Dictionary, Composer Biographies, Theory
- NIU World Music Instrument Collection
International, Instruments, Reference - Oxford Music Online
Musicians, Composers, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, General Reference - Performing Arts Encyclopedia (Library of Congress)
Performing Arts, Music, Theater, Dance - Rock's BackpagesRock, Journalism
- Show Music On Record (Library of Congress)
Show Tunes, General Reference - Solomon's Glossary of Technical Musical TermsGlossary, Theory, Composition
- The Virtual Instrument Museum
Sound, Images, Instruments - UCLA Music Library
- USC Music Library
How Do I Find?
BOOKS (Use this tab to explore):
Using the OASys Catalog to search Oxy Collections
Trying other library catalogs to find materials outside of Oxy
Learning how to locate books on the shelves (called "stacks")
Using subject headings to execute more precise searches
ARTICLES (Use this tab to explore):
Using databases to find scholarly article citations and full text
Identifying major publications in your subject
Locating online and print journals accessible through Oxy
MUSIC (Use this tab to explore):
Using the OASys Catalog to search Oxy Collections
Locating scores and sound recordings on campus
Finding sheet music and sound recordings online
Online indexes of songs and lyrics
Getting Started
Topic Finding and Thesis Formation
- Follow your interest.
- Look for tensions, anomalies and unanswered questions.
- What assumptions have been made in previous scholarship surrounding a topic?
- What critical approaches have and haven't been taken with certain topics?
- Narrow or broaden an area of interest, and look for ways you can situate an argument within a larger argument, or in opposition to another argument.
- Look outside of music at other influences and factors that are related to your topic.
Initial Exploration
- Wikipedia (and other encyclopedias)
- Google (Scholar, Web, Images, Books)
- WorldCat or OxyWorldCat
- Newspapers
Writing and Research Resources
The Craft of Research by Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams. Q180.55.M4 B66 2003
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) guides
Instruction+Research Support (Arts & Humanities)
Contact Info Weingart 109, AHVA 323-259-2714 rbrubacher@oxy.edu Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
