This is the "Home" page of the "Medicine & Health" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Occidental College Home Library Home Occidental College Home

Medicine & Health  

Last Updated: Mar 7, 2012 URL: http://libguides.oxy.edu/medicine Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Reference Sources

  • Oxford Collection of Medical Reference Works
    Includes 11 different titles in the field of medicine such as:The Oxford Companion to the Body, A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition, Concise Medical Dictionary, An A-Z of Medicinal Drugs, The Oxford Companion to Medicine, The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science & Medicine.
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
    Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics.
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
    Examines a broad range of topics such as environmental health, drug abuse, epidemiology, nutrition, demographics and diseases. Includes overviews, definitions and biographical entries.
 

Reference Books at Oxy

Cover Art
Gray's Anatomy - Henry Gray
Call Number: QM23.2 .G73 1985


Cover Art
Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary
Call Number: R121 .D73 2003
ISBN: 0721601464

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of public health
Call Number: RA423 .E53 2002
ISBN: 0028653548



Cover Art
Physicians' desk reference : PDR
Call Number: RM671.A1 P48a

 
 

Medicine

Medicine
 

How Do I Find . . .

BOOKS (Use this tab to explore):

Using the OASys Catalog to search Oxy's Collection.

Trying other library catalogs to find materials outside of Oxy.

Learning how to locate books on the shelves (called "stacks").

Using LC and MeSH subject headings to execute more precise searches.

Finding new health and medical publications owned by Oxy and partner libraries.

ARTICLES (Use this tab to explore):

Using databases to find scholarly article citations and full text.

Identifying major health & medicine publications.

Locating online and print journals accessible through Oxy.

 

Beginning your Research on a Medical Topic

Beginning your Health & Medicine Research

  • Follow your interest AND pay particular attention to the assignment you have been given. Make sure you understand what your Professor is asking for before diving into your research. Be sure to note any date or material type restrictions. (Example: Using peer reviewed journals, locate articles from the past three years that explore . . . )
  • Note some topics that interest you and then brainstorm ways these concepts could be worded. Is there a common term for a concept as well as a medical/scientific term? (The MeSH thesaurus can help you find medical terminology.)
  • Using the tools for initial exploration listed below, try to locate a few resources that address your topic. Once you have looked at a source, ask yourself the following:
    • Does this resource provide you with any new terms or concepts that should be incorporated into your research?
    • How does this resource address your subject and when was this published? Is there anything newer on the same issue?
    • What do you want to know more about after having read this? For example, does this resource problematize issues that seemed settled before? Or does it raise new areas and avenues of exploration entirely?
    • How does this resource fit with what you know about this topic? How does it add to the pool of material you have already examined?
  • Look for ways you can situate your research within the broader range of scholarship that exists on your topic. Can you expand upon an earlier discussion? Or provide a counterpoint?
  • Realize that the scope and focus of your topic will change the more information you locate, read, and analyze. Your preliminary research should help you figure out which aspects of your broader topic you are truly interested in focusing on; in later research, you can hone in on this narrow topic. 

Initial Exploration

  • Encyclopedias that focus on health & medicine including the online/print reference sets listed on this page.
  • Current awareness publications, including:
    1. Annual Reviews: Allow you to see the types of research that have been done on a subject within a given time frame. Oxy has access to numerous Annual Review titles that are relevant to health & medicine including the Annual Review of Medicine, the Annual Review of Biomedical Sciences, and the Annual Review of Public Health. From the Annual Review list you are taken to, look for the Annual Review title that is the most applicable to your topic.
    2. Current Opinion publications: Provides current research and opinion on the topic. Ones particularly relevant to medicine include Current Opinion in pharmacology and Current Opinion in Immunology.
    3. Trends In publications: Ones of particular interest include Trends in medical research and Trends in Genetics.
    4. Nature Reviews: Ones of particular interest include Nature Reviews - Cancer and Nature Reviews - Neuroscience.

Health & Medicine Research and Writing Resources

Citing medicine: the NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers by the National Library of Medicine. (Electronic Resource.)

Reflexivity : a practical guide for researchers in health and social sciences by Linda Finlay & Brendan Gough. H62 .R3765 2003.

A research guide to the health sciences : medical, nutritional, and environmental by Kathleen J. Haselbauer. Z6658 .H35 1987  

Research issues in health and social care by David Cowan. (Electronic Resource.)

Research methodology in medical sciences by A.G. Chandorkar & B.S. Nagoba. (Electronic Resource.)

The tools of science: the handbook for the apprentice of biomedical research by Jose Russo. (Electronic Resource.)

Head of Instruction + Research Support

Profile Image
Marisa Diehl
Contact Info
Academic Commons, Room 222B
323-259-2833
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip