This is the "Home" page of the "Mathematics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Occidental College Home Library Home Occidental College Home

Mathematics  

Last Updated: Feb 27, 2012 URL: http://libguides.oxy.edu/mathematics Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Reference Sources

  • Hutchinson Pocket Dictionary of Maths
  • Encyclopedia of Mathematics
    The Online Encyclopedia of Mathematics is the most up-to-date and comprehensive English-language graduate-level reference work in the field of mathematics today. This online edition comprises more than 8,000 entries and illuminates nearly 50,000 notions in mathematics.
 

Reference Books at Oxy

Cover Art
Dictionary of Mathematics - J. A. Glenn
Call Number: QA5 .G623 1984


Cover Art
The VNR concise encyclopedia of mathematics
Call Number: QA40 .V18 1977
ISBN: 0442226462

 
 

Mathematics

math
 

How Do I Find . . .

BOOKS (Use this tab to explore):

Using the OASys Catalog to search Oxy's Collection.

Trying other library catalogs to find materials outside of Oxy.

Learning how to locate books on the shelves (called "stacks").

Using LC subject headings to execute more precise searches.

Finding new mathematics publications owned by Oxy and partner libraries.

ARTICLES (Use this tab to explore):

Using databases to find scholarly article citations and full text.

Identifying major mathematics publications.

Locating online and print journals accessible through Oxy.

 

Beginning your Research on a Mathematics Topic

Beginning your Mathematics Research

  • Follow your interest AND pay particular attention to the assignment you have been given. Make sure you understand what your Professor is asking for before diving into your research. Be sure to note any date or material type restrictions. (Example: Using peer reviewed journals, locate articles from the past three years that explore . . . )
  • Note some topics that interest you and then brainstorm ways these concepts could be worded. Is there a common term for a concept as well as a technical term?
  • Using the tools for initial exploration listed below, try to locate a few resources that address your topic. Once you have looked at a source, ask yourself the following:
    • Does this resource provide you with any new terms or concepts that should be incorporated into your research?
    • How does this resource address your subject and when was this published? Is there anything newer on the same issue?
    • What do you want to know more about after having read this? For example, does this resource problematize issues that seemed settled before? Or does it raise new areas and avenues of exploration entirely?
    • How does this resource fit with what you know about this topic? How does it add to the pool of material you have already examined?
  • Look for ways you can situate your research within the broader range of scholarship that exists on your topic. Can you expand upon an earlier discussion? Or provide a counterpoint?
  • Realize that the scope and focus of your topic will change the more information you locate, read, and analyze. Your preliminary research should help you figure out which aspects of your broader topic you are truly interested in focusing on; in later research, you can hone in on this narrow topic. 

Initial Exploration

Mathematics Research and Writing Resources

Doing mathematics: convention, subject, calculation, analogy by Martin H. Krieger. (Electronic resource.)

Mathematical problem solving : issues in research. QA63 .M37 1982 

Models for undergraduate research in mathematics edited by Lester Senechal. QA11 .M62 1990 

Head of Instruction + Research Support

Profile Image
Marisa Diehl
Contact Info
Academic Commons, Room 222B
323-259-2833
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip