Skip to main content

Crossroads Visual Resources: Home

Finding Images

When most of us search for images, we go to Google Images to complete a quick and easy search. Though Google Images is a helpful tool, it can present problems such as : low quality images, incorrect source for images. It also shows you a lot of low quality results (clip art, logos), which will be irrelevant to what you actually want to find!

This LibGuide will recommend alternative searches to curate interesting, high-resolution photographs for your Crossroads projects. 

Rather than using Google Images

Try a more specific Google search! This search is not performed in Google Images (though it can be!), but rather in Google's main search. It filters your search to show "hidden collection" that are stored in galleries or databases. 

Step one: Go to www.google.com

Step two: Copy and paste either of the strings below (remove "A." or "B."). This searches ONLY sites from education institutions (.edu) or organizations (.org). Enter the line into the search bar.

Step three: Replace "KEYWORD" with whatever you want to search. No need to replace anything else!

A. KEYWORD image (archive OR gallery OR collection OR database) site:.edu

B. KEYWORD image (archive OR gallery OR collection OR database) site: .org

If you do use Google Images and want better quality, try a REVERSE IMAGE SEARCH:

You might come across an image of poor quality or need to find the original source. In this case: complete a reverse image search using the image URL at TinEye < www.tineye.com >

(An image URL should end with the filetype, ie ".jpg", ".tif", etc. If you do not have this URL, right-click on the image in the web browser and click "copy image address.")

You can learn a lot from a reversed image search, including where an image came from, how it is being used, and if you search by resolution, you can find the highest quality image available publicly.

Image Specifications for Crossroads

Dimensions:

  • Ideal and maximum image size for upload is 1080 pixels tall and 1920 pixels wide. Try to find the largest file size possible.

  • For ideal display on the media wall, please use images at least 960 pixels high or larger.

Resolution:

  • Lowest acceptable resolution is 72dpi 

Resizing:

  • Mac --> Open image in Preview
  • Word--> Open image in Microsoft Paint

Image Tools

News Sources

Citations and Copyright Information

Visual Search Engines

Collaborative Image Collections

Librarian

Government Resources