Film reviews are written by journalists, with the intention of communicating the review to the general public, describing the plot, characters, cast, and director. The goal of a film review is to help the reader assess whether or not they want to watch the movie. Film reviews are published around the weeks and months when the film is released. A film review is a primary source that tells you what thoughts were around the time that the film was released.
Scholarly criticism of a film analyzes the plot, characters, and cinematic techniques. Criticism compares the film with other films in the genre, or might apply a specific theory to the film. Criticism often considers the historical and cultural significance of the film with the goal of advancing scholarly communication. While reviews are published around the time of release, scholarly criticism could be published years or decades after the release of the film.
Film & Television Literature Index is designed for use by film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. From EBSCO.
Film & Television Literature Index is designed for use by film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. From EBSCO.
Full-text archive of high-impact academic journals in many disciplines. The archive does NOT include recent issues (generally begins with the first journal issue and stops 3 to 5 years ago). Browse journals by discipline or by title, and search articles by keyword.
The Film Scripts Online Series contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Now film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen. Most scripts in the series have never been published before and are available nowhere else. Alexander Street developed the collection through arrangements with Warner Bros., Sony, RKO, MGM, and other major film studios; rights holders such as Faber & Faber, Newmarket Press, Penguin Putnam, StudioCanal, and Vintage Anchor; and the writers themselves, including Paul Schrader, Lawrence Kasdan, Gus Van Sant, Neil LaBute, Oliver Stone, and many others.
This vast digital archive offers unparalleled insights into the behind-the-scenes activities of the music, film and entertainment industries. By providing the complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2000, it arms students and researchers with primary source material to develop a contextual understanding of the entertainment industry as it evolved over the 20th century. Music, Radio and The Stage • Billboard (1894-2000) • Musician (1976-1999) • Muzik (1995-2003) • Spin (1985-2000) • Back Stage (1960-2000) • The Beat (1988-2000) • Disc/Disc and Music Echo (1958-1975) • Mixmag (1983-2000) • Radio and Records (R&R) (1973-2000) • Rave (1964-1970) • Reggae and African Beat (1982-1988) • The Stage (1880-2000) • Uncut (1997-2000) • Vox (1990-1999) -- SECTION 2: Cinema, Film and Television • American Film (1975-1992) • Broadcasting & Cable (1931-2000) • Contrast (1961-1966) • Film Journal International/Independent Film Journal/Film Journal (1937-2000) • Screen International (1976-2000) • Variety (1905-2000) • Boxoffice (1920-2000) • Broadcast (1960-2000) • Film Weekly (1928-1939) • Picturegoer (1911-1960)
These open access journals (and others) may not be indexed in major article databases:
Canadian Journal of Media Studies
Mediascape: UCLA's Journal of Cinema and Media Studies
These open access journals (and others) may not be indexed in major article databases:
Canadian Journal of Media Studies
Mediascape: UCLA's Journal of Cinema and Media Studies
A common interface to databases provided by EBSCO. Oxy access includes Academic Search Elite, Business Source Elite, Newspaper Source, EBSCO Animals, Music Index, Sport Discus, America: History and Life, Historical Abstracts, and more. Databases can be searched simultaneously or independently.