Research Guides: Critical Theory and Social Justice: Finding Articles

Databases Strong in CTSJ Topics

Accessible Archives: Anatomy of Protest This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles, editorials, and books about the people, places, events, organizations, and ideas that led to protest.
American Indian Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window
The American Indian Experience from ABC-CLIO is an invaluable digital resource that provides in-depth historical accounts and contemporary cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Find citations to Western-language articles pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia, published worldwide from 1971 to present. Pre-1992 books and book chapters area also indexed.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. From ProQuest.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of articles, reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. From ProQuest.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index Online (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
HAPI is a source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Left Index This link opens in a new window
Index to "literature on the left. With a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy."

Oxy Journals

Use the following links to find journals listed under each subject.

Open Educational Resources

Open Access (OA) materials, also known as Open Educational Resources (OER), are free-to-use educational materials – think textbooks, learning guides, videos, journals, etc. OER are free of cost, open to anyone to use, don't require any institutional log in credentials, and carry legal permission for open use. Feel free to use, adapt, and share the following open resources!

Want to publish your own work?

Check out CTSJ: Journal of Undergraduate Research in Oxy Scholar, Occidental's open access repository of peer reviewed scholarship.

Accessing Material We Don't Own

Many of the books, journal articles and other resources you find can be accessed through Oxy. However, if not, you will need to request them through Interlibrary Loan. If you are logged into your Oxy account, most interlibrary loans can be made via a link associated with the article/book.