Research Guides: Medicine & Health: Start Here

Welcome!

Welcome! The purpose of this guide is to help you find and access information about Medicine and Health. If you have any questions or comments about this guide, then please feel free to email me directly.

Good Places to Start

Start your research and find articles with these key medical and health focused databases.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
The public interface to MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other databases from the National Library of Medicine covering research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
Web of Science - Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection contains over 21,100 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities disciplines dating back to 1900.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Consumer oriented health information from the National Library of Medicine, including a Medical Dictionary, a Medical Encyclopedia, health news, tutorials and more.
Health Databases from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
A health-focused subset of EBSCO Host databases, including Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO), Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO), Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO), and SportDiscus (EBSCO). These databases can be searched simultaneously or independently.

Database tutorials

If you need help getting started on some of these databases, then check out our tutorials:

PubMed

Web of Science

Related Research Guides at Oxy

Need Support?

Not sure where to start? Found an article, but not sure how to access the full text of it? Need a book that we don't have at Oxy? Reach out to a librarian, we're happy to help! We can help you track down that article, walk you through the research process, help you find and evaluate useful sources, and more!

Schedule an Appointment!