Start your research and find articles with these key Biology databases.
MEDLINE® is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine NLM). The database contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) from the NLM. Extending back to 1946, annual input now exceeds 700,000 citations. From ProQuest.
Find the complete list of biology related databases at the Biology subject link in our database list.
Open Access (OA) articles are free, open to anyone to read, don't require any institutional log in credentials, and carry legal permission for open use. If you're interested in learning more, visit our Open Access guide.
A few of the more than 200 open access biology titles are listed below along with a link to the directory of open access journals.
Biological reviews: Biological Reviews covers the entire range of the biological sciences, presenting several review articles per issue. Although scholarly and with extensive bibliographies, the articles are aimed at non-specialist biologists as well as researchers in the field. Authors are specifically instructed to be aware of this fact in their writing, and the resulting reviews serve as extensive introductions to particular fields, defining the state of the art, and drawing attention to gaps in knowledge. Articles are up to 20,000 words long and each contains an abstract, a thorough introduction and statement of conclusions.
Trends in Cell Biology (Cell Press series): Trends in Cell Biology provides succinct updates, opinions, and discussions on the most exciting current research in all aspects of molecular and cell biology. Every issue of Trends in Cell Biology contains brief, readable Review and Opinion articles that keep readers up to date on the latest trends, important developments, and new ideas both within and outside their specialist area. Review and Opinion articles are commissioned from leading scientists and are then subjected to stringent peer review, ensuring balance and accuracy.
Current Opinion in Structural Biology: Current Opinion in Structural Biology aims to stimulate scientifically grounded, interdisciplinary, multi-scale debate and exchange of ideas. It contains polished, concise and timely reviews and opinions, with particular emphasis on those articles published in the past two years. In addition to describing recent trends, the authors are encouraged to give their subjective opinion of the topics discussed.
Annual Review (series): Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society.
Critical Reviews in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology: Critical Reviews in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology believes that well-written review articles prove an effective device for the integration and meaningful comprehension of vast, often contradictory, literature. Review articles also provide an opportunity for creative scholarship by synthesizing known facts, fruitful hypotheses, and new concepts. Accordingly, Critical Reviews in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology publishes high-quality reviews that organize, evaluate, and present the current status of high-impact, current issues in the area of biochemistry and molecular biology.
Nature Reviews Series: Nature Review Series aims to be the premier source of reviews and commentaries for the scientific communities we serve. We strive to publish articles that are authoritative, accessible and enhanced with clearly understandable figures, tables and other display items. We want to provide an unparalleled service to authors, referees and readers, and we work hard to maximize the usefulness and impact of each article.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections . BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.
