Research Tips

Key Databases for Current News

Key Databases for Historical News

Key Databases for International News

Note that if you want to see what foreign language newspapers are available through Oxy, whether in print or via one of our subscription databases, the Advanced Search function of OASys works well.

  1. Search for the SUBJECT newspapers
  2. Select the language you want the paper to be written in from the drop down menu.
  3. Hit search/enter.

Key Databases for Industry Specific News

Audiovisual News Sources

Searching for a Specific Newspaper or Periodical?

If you know the title of a particular newspaper or periodical you would like to search, you can use the links below to see if Oxy has it in print (or electronically) as well as see the coverage dates.

For example, running a search for La opinión lets me know that Oxy owns issues from the past one year in print and licenses it online from 1992 to the present. I can view in online via Lexis Nexis, ProQuest Newsstand or ProQuest Central.

Historical Newspapers on Microform

Not all databases provide the entire range of a newspaper's publication dates. Sometimes, you will need to access older articles on microfilm (film reels) or microform (transparent cards). Oxy has a number of newspapers on microform, some of which are listed below. The microfilm reading machine is located on the main floor of the Academic Commons.

Finding Historical Newspapers on Microform through ILL

Microform of newspapers not at Oxy can be ordered via Inter Library Loan (ILL).

1. Search for the title of the newspaper in OxyWorldcat

2. Sort the results by relevence only

3. Open the record for the newspaper that contains microfilm or microform (it should be in the first few results)

4. Click Request this Item

It can be useful to reference an index to the newspaper when using microform, which can also be ordered through WorldCat using the same steps above. To locate a newspaper's index, search for the title + "index."