Full-text archive of high-impact academic journals in many disciplines. The archive does NOT include recent issues -- included journals generally begin with the first issue and stop 3 to 5 years ago. You can browse journals by discipline or by title, and you can search articles by keyword. Oxy subscribes to eight JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I through VII and the Ecology and Botany collection.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
APS publications serve the international physics community with peer-reviewed research journals, news and commentary about the latest research published in the Physical Review Journals, news about and for members, information about physics and its place in the world, and blogs covering science policy, as well as fun and educational science news. The Physical Review Journal collection of 13 leading peer-reviewed research journals includes Physical Review Letters, Physical Review X, Physical Review, and Reviews of Modern Physics.
The ASBMB publishes three prestigious research journals and a monthly news magazine. ASBMB's journals publish original research in all fields of biological chemistry, lipids and -comics, including enzymology, molecular biology, computational biology, microbiology, plant biology, metabolomics, proteomics, genomics, peptides, protein folding, cell signalling, lipidomics, membrane biology, systems biology and many other areas. All articles undergo an extensive peer-review process and are published online as Papers in Press upon acceptance.
ASPB is a professional society devoted to the advancement of the plant sciences. It publishes two world-class journals and organizes conferences and other activities that are key to the advancement of science. It publishes the highly cited and respected journals Plant Physiology and The Plant Cell.
BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine. The leading research journals include selective titles such as BMC Biology, BMC Medicine, Genome Biology and Genome Medicine, academic journals such as Journal of Hematology & Oncology, Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC series, 65 inclusive journals focused on the needs of individual research communities.
Founded in 1893, the Botanical Society of America (BSA) is a "not-for-profit" 501 (c) (3) membership society whose mission is to: promote botany, the field of basic science dealing with the study and inquiry into the form, function, development, diversity, reproduction, evolution, and uses of plants and their interactions within the biosphere. Journals published include American Journal of Botany, Applications in Plant Sciences, and Plant Science Bulletin
As Japan’s biggest and most influential journals in chemistry, The Chemical Society of Japan monthly (except for The Chemical Record bimonthly) releases Chemistry Letters (Chem.Lett.) specializing in widely and rapidly publishing scientific reports, Bulletin of the Chemical Society of Japan (BCSJ) mainly publishing scientific research articles and specializing in concise, objective reviews written by scientists active in areas of current interest.
The Company of Biologists is a not-for-profit publishing organisation dedicated to supporting and inspiring the biological community. The publications include Development, Journal of Cell Science, Journal of Experimental Biology, Disease Mechanisms and Models, and Biology Open.
This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting-edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.
A completely revised and updated version of the original work published in Germany in 1960, this edition incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community.
The Index to American Botanical Literature has provided a service to the American botanical community for over a century, published initially in the Bulletin of the Torrey Botanical Club and subsequently in Brittonia. The Index contains entries dealing with various aspects of extant and fossil American plants and fungi, including systematics and floristics, morphology, and ecology, as well as economic botany and general botany (publications dealing with botanists, herbaria, etc.).
Inter-Research Science Center (IR) is a self-sustaining international Science Center - small but with great global impact. IR was founded by Professor Dr. h.c. Otto Kinne†.IR produces high-quality publications: Marine Ecology Progress Series (MEPS), Aquatic Biology (AB), Aquatic Microbial Ecology (AME), Diseases of Aquatic Organisms (DAO), Climate Research (CR), Ethics in Science and Environmental Politics (ESEP), Endangered Species Research (ESR), Aquaculture Environment Interactions (AEI), Sexuality and Early Development in Aquatic Organisms (SEDAO) and Book Series like EE Books, ESEP Books and Top Books.
Journals on nature.com cover the cutting edge of science, technology and medicine, and provide high impact reviews of their fields through prestigious multi-disciplinary titles from Nature Research and a variety of discipline-specific academic journals.
This is a map of the wheel-ruts of modern English. Etymologies are not definitions; they're explanations of what our words meant and how they sounded 600 or 2,000 years ago. The dates beside a word indicate the earliest year for which there is a surviving written record of that word (in English unless otherwise indicated). This should be taken as approximate, especially before about 1700, since a word may have been used in conversation for hundreds of years before it turns up in a manuscript that has had the good fortune to survive the centuries.
The basic sources of this work are Weekley's "An Etymological Dictionary of Modern English," Klein's "A Comprehensive Etymological Dictionary of the English Language," "Oxford English Dictionary" (second edition), "Barnhart Dictionary of Etymology," Holthausen's "Etymologisches Wörterbuch der Englischen Sprache," and Kipfer and Chapman's "Dictionary of American Slang."
Occidental College has invested in more than 160 multidisciplinary resources from ProQuest. You now have instant access to thousands of primary source documents, including archival collections, government documents, periodicals, newspapers, video and more! These materials can be accessed anytime, anywhere for any faculty member or student with a Occidental College account. Click on the product name or LibGuide links below for information and to access the databases.
The Rockefeller University is the world’s leading biomedical research university and is dedicated to conducting innovative, high-quality research to improve the understanding of life for the benefit of humanity. Publications include Journal of Cell Biology, Journal of Experimental Medicine, and Journal of General Physiology.
Science has been at the centre of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880—with seed money from Thomas Edison. Today, Science continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world. A trailblazer in online publishing as well, the Science family of publications has grown to include online journals Science Translational Medicine, Science Signaling, Science Immunology, Science Robotics and the open access journal Science Advances.
For more than 50 years, SIAM books have been a leading source of knowledge for the world’s applied mathematics and computational science communities. SIAM’s line-up of stellar, prize-winning authors and titles that address both timely and fundamental topics have made SIAM books indispensable to researchers, faculty, and students around the world. The collection includes more than 450 searchable titles for institutions to offer to their users electronically.
SEPM has been publishing top technical articles since 1927 when it initiated the Journal of Paleontology. In 1929, the first Special Publication was released (Bibliography of Otoliths) and in 1931 it started the Journal of Sedimentary Petrology (later renamed to Journal of Sedimentary Research). In 1985, the Journal of Paleontology was transferred to the Paleontological Society and SEPM began publishing PALAIOS. Lastly, in 2003, the Sedimentary Record was initiated as a member magazine with both a highlighted science article and news about the society and sedimentary geology in general.
The United Nations iLibrary is the first comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. It provides librarians, information specialists, scholars, students, policy makers, influencers and the general public with a single digital destination for seamlessly accessing publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs. United Nations iLibrary offers an extensive list of features that deliver flexibility, speed, and efficiency such as intuitive navigation, integrated search results, granular content, citation tool, DOI identification, and multilingual content. Every year around 500 new titles are planned to be added to United Nations iLibrary. Approximately 70% of which are in English. All content is available for full read access for all users by clicking the READ icon. Oxy is offering this on a trial basis. (Access to PDF format is available only to subscribers. )