What's New
Items featured here are usually newly acquired, temporary (on trial), or recently released resources, but sometimes they are just so cool we have to share.
- Closer to Van Eyck: Rediscovering the Ghent Altarpiece An interactive web presentation of Lasting Support, An Interdisciplinary Research Project to Assess the Structural Condition of the Ghent Altarpiece.
- Mapping Gothic France
Reference Sources
Featured Online Reference Sources:
- ArchNetArchitecture, Muslim Cultures, Muslim Civilization
- Art: 21 Art in the 21st centuryArtists, Contemporary Art, PBS
- ARTstor Digital Library Arts, Architecture, Costume and Fashion, Images, Maps and Plans
- Biography in Context (Gale)
Biography, History - Classical Art Research Center, Beazley ArchiveClassical Studies, Ancient Greece, Ancient Rome, Sculpture, Pottery
- Contemporary Artist IndexContemporary Artists, Publications
- Dictionary of Art HistoriansBiography, Art Historians, Museum Professionals
- Encyclopædia IranicaIran, Persia, Civilization, Reference
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Cinema, Fashion, History, General - Getty Provenance IndexHistory, Ownership, Artworks
- Gothic Past Medieval, Irish, Architecture, Sculpture
- King James BibleBible, Old Testament, New Testament
- Mapping Sculpture - Mapping the Practice and Profession of Sculpture in Britain and Ireland 1851-1951Britain, Ireland, Artists, Sculpture
- Oxford Art OnlineArtists, Architects, Artworks, Museums, Styles/Movements, Arts (general)
- Oxford Reference Online- Art and ArchitectureArts (general), Artists, Architecture, Design
- Perseus Digital Library Classical Studies, Greco-Roman, Texts
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Philosophy, Philosophers, Aesthetics - the artists.orgModern Art, Contemporary Art, Artists
- Union List of Artist NamesArtists, Architects, Collectors and Patrons of the Arts, Institutions
How Do I Find Scholarly Resources Focused on Visual Arts?
ARTICLES (Use the tab above or click here to explore):
Using databases to find scholarly article citations and full text
Identifying major publications in your subject
Locating online and print journals accessible through Oxy
BOOKS (Use the tab above or click here to explore):
Using the OASys Catalog to search Oxy Collections
Trying other library catalogs to find materials outside of Oxy
Learning how to locate books on the shelves (called "stacks")
Using subject headings to execute more precise searches
IMAGES (Use the Visual Resources tab or click here to explore):
Using various databases to find digital images
Visiting museum websites to find information about items in their collections
Identifying reference resources with rich image content
Need help navigating our resources? Visit the General Reference Research Guide or contact a librarian (see profile at right).
Just Getting Started?
Topic Finding and Thesis Formation
- Follow your interest.
- Look for tensions, anomalies and unanswered questions.
- What assumptions have been made in previous scholarship surrounding a topic?
- What critical approaches have and haven't been taken with certain topics?
- Narrow or broaden an area of interest, and look for ways you can situate an argument within a larger argument, or in opposition to another argument.
- Look outside of art history at other influences and factors that are related to your topic.
Initial Exploration
- Wikipedia (and other encyclopedias)
- Google (Scholar, Web, Images, Books)
- WorldCat or OxyWorldCat
- Newspapers
Writing and Research Resources
The Craft of Research by Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams. Q180.55.M4 B66 2003
A Short Guide to Writing About Art by Sylvan Barnet. N7476 .B37 2003
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) guides
Instruction+Research Support (Arts & Humanities)
Contact Info Weingart 109, AHVA 323-259-2714 rbrubacher@oxy.edu Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
